Non Profit Association Usage free of charge

babba
babba Posts: 1
edited March 21 in Licensing

Hello,

we - a Non Profit Association in Germany - used until now TeamViewer for accessing our PC in the server room from outside the building - this worked well until now.

Since a few days we get a message that TeamViewer believes we use it in a commerciel environment - which is not true - and limits the usage to only a few minutes.

We already contacted the TeamViewer sales team in order to find a solution - but all they did was sending us an offer for a yearly licence with a small rebate.
Unfortunately we can't afford it  and we are wondering what to do in order to continue to use TeamViewer as a Non Profit Association (no commercial usage) free of charge.

Thanks for any usefull hint.

best regards Dieter

Best Answer

Answers

• I'm an amateur astronomer and had the same problem...shame..
  • Jwprice
    Jwprice Posts: 1

This happened to me as well.. I've been helping my parents and relatives with keeping their pc updated, as well as teaching them how to use it remotely for years with team viewer. Just now I got this same email. Guess it's time to give one of those other apps a try that are cheaper. If they wanted 50-70 for the year for a non-commercial user, I'd pay it. 

• That really is a shame. You should make exceptions for non profits, or a discount.   Too bad. We will have to switch to another service. 

• babad
    babad Posts: 1

The problem is that TeamViewer does not understand what the word "commercial" means. The word commercial comes from the word commerce: the activity of buying and selling, especially on a large scale (google). Nonprofit organizations are not companies. Please work on your understanding of the definition. How can you want to earn money from organizations that help people in need for free and consist of volunteers? It's the peak of greed and PR shoot yourself in the foot. Shame on TeamViewer!

• bondmar30
    bondmar30 Posts: 4 ✭✭