teamviewer.com link icon
or
Ask The Community

Commercial use - Connection time out

1266267269271272337

Comments

  • tenementgeek
    tenementgeek Posts: 2 ✭✭

    How does this "answer" his question? I was just making a comment.

  • Kaggy
    Kaggy Posts: 2 ✭✭

    I am having this same problem. I am a registered free user, using Team Viewer to connect to my parents' desktop computer and the desktop computer of my older brother, who has dementia. They are 2000 miles away from me and for several weeks I have not been able to hold a connection for more than a minute. I use Team View exclusively for the purpose of helping family members. I am NOT getting a "suspected commercial use" warning, so I don't understand why my connections are timing out and I'm blocked from connecting again anytime soon. I've tried extending the "Timing Out Inactive Session" setting under Extras-Options-Advanced menu, but this changes nothing. I'm really frustrated that I can't help my parents who are in their 90s and my brother, who needs help using his computer at all because of his disability. What's going on? How to get help?

  • Artemkin
    Artemkin Posts: 4 ✭✭

    Same problem i have.

    I have a job far from home, and i can't use app in my computer more 5min. I use only for private connection.

  • Artemkin
    Artemkin Posts: 4 ✭✭
    edited May 2021

    Hi, i have a problem with my app teamviewer, i can't use more 5min. I use only for my own private connection.

    How i can fix it?

  • Kaggy
    Kaggy Posts: 2 ✭✭

    I am having the same problem that other users have posted they're struggling with. I am a registered user with a free account, using Team Viewer to connect to my parents' desktop computer and the desktop computer of my older brother, who has dementia. They are 2000 miles away from me. For several weeks I have not been able to hold a connection for more than a minute. I use Team Viewer exclusively for the purpose of helping family members. I am NOT getting a "suspected commercial use" warning, so I don't understand why my connections are timing out and I'm blocked from connecting again anytime soon. I've tried extending the "Timing Out Inactive Session" setting under Extras-Options-Advanced menu, but this changes nothing. I'm really frustrated that I can't help my parents who are in their 90s and my brother, who needs help using his computer at all because of his disability. I don't see anyone giving any useful answers to users with free accounts who have previously posted this problem. What's going on? How to get help?

  • mphi55
    mphi55 Posts: 1
    edited May 2021

    Just purchased a new iMac for our church. I use Teamviewer to log in remotely to do work for the church from home. Since the upgrade to the new iMac, I can connect to it but it locks up/freezes after only a few seconds.

    Logging into it with a MacBook pro. Running Catalina at home and Big Sur up at the church.

    Both have the most current version of Teamviewer. 15.17.6. Was working fine until the new iMac.

  • Kreigr
    Kreigr Posts: 1

    I keep getting timed out when trying to connect to one of my PCs. I am only using at home with a few PCs connected. I think TV suspects I am using commercially. How can I fix this. Is it a setting I am missing or can't find?

  • GiJohn
    GiJohn Posts: 1

    This is driving me nuts. What did I do to get flagged like this? This doesn't really make any sense to me. I only use TeamViewer to check in on my kids' gaming computer from my phone. Is this commercial use?

    ... I really doubt it...

    It kinda seems like maybe this is just a ploy to make us upgrade to the business version.

    I might be inclined to do that, but I don't want to pay for a full year in advance. There should be a monthly option or something.

  • Bebbspoke
    Bebbspoke Posts: 22 ✭✭
    edited May 2021

    Hi Peoples; - I am a private user of TV (free) - I regularly check the pcs of a few friends & relatives.

    On one of these devices - the TV link now drops out within about 1 minute of connection, with reconnect blocked for 5 minutes.

    This makes servicing the colleagues pc impossible...

    Please - any suggestions? (both machines are running latest TV version 15.17.6)

    Thank you.

  • Bebbspoke
    Bebbspoke Posts: 22 ✭✭

    Hi Folks - again I am erroneously accused of "Commercial Use" - please; - where is the link to resolve the issue?

    Thank you.

  • Bob66441
    Bob66441 Posts: 5 ✭✭

    I am using the latest version of Teamviewer Version: 15.17.6 (64-bit). Have used TV for years without problem to assist friends or family member with their PCs. I am getting timed out and disconnected withint a minute after connecting. I am NOT getting a commercial use detected message. Started March to April 2021.

    I installed the 64-bit version after my Teamviewer Version: 15.16.8 (32-bit) kept timing out after less than a minute when connecting to help my mother with her PC. Further attempts only result in a timeout with the time to wait advanced to connect attempt time + 2 minutes. Have restarted both PCs and checked Advance Setting Timeout (was and still is set to off). Have tried installing older version of TV (TV ver. 10) which would not allow me to connect unless I agree to update. Ver 10 kept telling me I was detected as a commercial user. Updating back to Version: 15.16.8 32-bit gives me the time out problem again. (The commercial user notice does not appear anymore as it did when I was on ver. 10). I am able to connect for about 1 minute if I restart or stop and start the TV service in windows taskmgr services. I do not know what else to do. I am not using a VPN for internet access. I am not using a proxy. My connection download/upload is 30mb+/2.9mb+.

    Again, I am NOT getting a commercial use detected message. I have also tested TV with another friend on two of his computers, and am having the same problem. He also gets the same timeouts when connecting to me or to his laptop PC. I had no problems before March 2021. All PC's are Windows 10 Home, not using VPN, firewall enabled (disable does not correct problem). . Please help if you can.

  • Remeto
    Remeto Posts: 4 ✭✭
    edited May 2021

    i have the same problem, much users after the last update have this problem

  • Marvinski
    Marvinski Posts: 1 Newbie

    I've been having the same problem with TeamViewer Free License. It disconnects after about 1 minute with a "timeout error" message. This problem started about 3 weeks ago with version 15.16.8 (32-bit). I updated to the latest version 15.17.6 (32-bit), but it continues to have the same problem with any and all connections timing out and aborting the session every time. Note that I do *not* get a "commercial use detected" message - just the timeout message.


    Is this a bug? Please TeamViewer Support, help us figure out what the cause of the problem is.

  • Remeto
    Remeto Posts: 4 ✭✭

    i tested the solution i found and it works very well

  • Spartan1
    Spartan1 Posts: 1 Newbie

    I was told to fill in a form to justify my request for a free licence. I did this, and uploaded it as requested. So what happens now...?

    Do I get an email saying if it's been approved/disallowed? Or what...

  • loggingsecretary1
    loggingsecretary1 Posts: 1
    edited May 2021

    The same thing keeps happening to me, I was wondering if you go any kind of an answer? I see they won't help you unless you have a license though. If the paid version works like the free one I don't know that I want to spend the money.

  • Dave_Reiser
    Dave_Reiser Posts: 6 ✭✭

    Oh yes, near BWI.

    Now, how do we communicate with TV? I still can use it.

  • José_António54
    José_António54 Posts: 10 ✭✭

    Good afternoon


    When I enter a remote session, the session disconnects shortly afterwards and one appears to me that has timed out, as shown in the annex.


    Thank you very much awaiting solution to the problem.

    Compliments

  • pete2con
    pete2con Posts: 1

    I have been using free TeamViewer for a year and recently after logging into my account and accessing my husband's computer, TeamViewer kicks me out telling me I have run over my time - what am I doing wrong? Thank you

  • rfennimore
    rfennimore Posts: 6 ✭✭
    edited May 2021

    Are any other people experiencing this? (see attached). I am runnning TeamViewer Version: 15.17.6 (a008a771384) on macOS Big Sur 11.2.3 (20D91). Free licence and non-commercial.


  • Jcmarcell
    Jcmarcell Posts: 2 ✭✭
    edited May 2021

    I am using windows home for at home personal and non commercial work. Worked for years actually on team teamviewer. But recently I've ran into an issue with windows update making my PC unbootable. This resulted in me fixing the error and reverting to some older windows updates. Teamviewer worked fine up until I used this bat file that installed the ability to use group policy editor on win 10 home version (which only come factory in pro editions for win 10). The reason I installed this is to have the ability to disable windows updates (to prevent what just happened with win 10 pushing bogus updates automatically) Which I did. Now team viewer said my system is a commercial account ? I tried restarting and even deleting teamviewer and it works for a while then right back to commercial use detected.


    I understand teamviewer is free and you guys don't want people using it commerically for free. Don't get me started on those people that "just need to log into my work computer for an email" because I don't do that at all what so ever. I have 8 computer's all personal in my home and need access with teamviewer. I'm willing to pay for my usage but I don't want to have to pay for the commercial use at current price if I'm not fully using all the features which brings me to ask if we can get a less expensive version for lite commercial users. With maybe limited features. For cheaper. (Idea pitch that nobody important enough will read)


    Furthermore I want to have access to my PC and I'm in a situation where changing hardware or software can destroy my ability to encrypt current data so deleting windows or adding a new version or anything like that IS NOT AN OPTION for this pc at this time. I lost enough down time just fixing Windows 10 After the update. After disabling the features from newly added group policy editor, it still shows commercial use detected also.


    I'm at the point where I'd be willing to pay for a license at reduce price. (Highly unlikely)

    OR

    Just having to find a different software for this ONE pc when all my others work with teamviewer (pain the **bleep** **bleep**)

    OR move a bunch of **bleep** just to connect a monitor for 15 mins every couple days. (Pain but honestly it's what I've been doing)


    Any ideas to completely remove this problem with teamviewer without having me change any of my current setup would be appreciated.


    thanks for anyone's time, and don't get me started on the "this is the wrong thread" because it's been two weeks and I still haven't heard back from whoever supposed to be resting my ID (again).

    I'm feeling my personal scenario might not be the same scenario as others experiencing the same problem.

    *Ignore*

    Lastly I feel like this is teamviewers quiet way of getting all of us freeloaders to pay up and cough up the money we been using for free all these years and to slowly erase the neutral line thats in between those "I need to check my work email from home computer one time" and those "hey co-worker let me connect teamviewer to help you while we are here at work on our commercial computers in our commercial environment" people.


    Rant over thanks for listening, any ideas??

  • Can0nFan
    Can0nFan Posts: 4 ✭✭

    I agree its frustrating. we free users get no help other than posting on here I called the 800 number and was told to post here and the call ended. I am going to be looking for an alternative solution very soon if this isnt resolved

  • Bob66441
    Bob66441 Posts: 5 ✭✭

    Again, I am NOT getting a commercial use detected message.

  • ArtofWalls
    ArtofWalls Posts: 1 Newbie
    edited May 2021

    I am afraid It is not a bug.

    It is just the guys a TeamViewer being **bleep** 😡

  • tcbpd
    tcbpd Posts: 1

    my teamviwer sessions are ending in less than a minute. happens on my mac and my ipad. happens even if i log out. happens when connecting to someone else's computer or connecting to quicksupport on their ipad. i have not received any commercial violation notice.

  • Can0nFan
    Can0nFan Posts: 4 ✭✭
    edited May 2021

    im done with Teamview after waiting for a response......and having discovered **Third Party Product** Team viewer can go you know where

  • Djbyte
    Djbyte Posts: 1
    Hello I was kindly asking why teamviewer recognizes me for commercial use when instead I use it only from Smartphone to my desktop .. Thanks. Just to check my web radio.
    


  • NotaLoka
    NotaLoka Posts: 0

    So I've gotten another commercial use message, trying to reset but I don't get a pdf (on phone and pc).

    Can't even log into my computer atm because I keep getting blocked without having even one moment of connection...

    I guess teamviewer doubling down on getting people to pay.

  • KirkWeaver
    KirkWeaver Posts: 1 Newbie

    Same thing with mine. Can't even submit a ticket.