Can I VPN to two of my computers?

bazbsg
bazbsg Posts: 112 ✭✭

I am away on vacation and want to VPN to my computers at home to do various things. I can connect (remote access) to two of my computers at the same time. I can VPN to one but when I try to VPN to the second, it gives me the IP address of the first connection. If I disconnect the first then the second connects correctly. Is this a shortcoming of Teamviewer VPN or am I doing something wrong?

I did read one related question where someone was trying to create a network of several computers. I am not doing that. I want to VPN to both computers but they do not need to talk to each other.

Answers

• Esther
    Esther Posts: 4,052 Former Community Manager

Hi @bazbsg

Long time no talk! I hope you´re doing well and enjoying your vacation 🌴

I am not a VPN expert so I needed to re-read our Knowledge Hub article again: TeamViewer VPN - TeamViewer Support

However, I know the TeamViewer VNP is not like your standard VPN, for example, Private Internet Access (PIA). Here is some info from the article:

TeamViewer VPN is a one-to-one connection between two computers. TeamViewer will use a TeamViewer connection (handled as a remote connection) to establish a VPN with IP-addresses which are added to the involved TeamViewer IDs.

Our service acts more like a VLAN as the machines are placed into a virtual private network so that the devices think they are in the same network. Whereas, PIA takes your traffic and forwards it from the country server that you are connected to.

For the VPN to work, a VPN driver must be installed on both sides and can either be started during a remote control connection or on its own from within the TeamViewer settings.

So my question would be: What are you trying to achieve with the VPN connection? Does a regular TeamViewer connection maybe resolve what you want?

Thanks, Esther

Former Community Manager

• bazbsg

Hi Esther. Yes, it has been a long time and thanks for remembering me!!