Automated honeypot for scammers?

Hello,

Background:

I am a sysadmin that gets about 5-15 scam calls a weeks where they commonly try and get me to install TeamViewer for them to connect to me. I am not a scambaiter but I do like to waste their time as every minute they waste with me is a minute they are not scamming someone else. So I lead them along for a bit and gather information from them in the process.

Then once I have information like account details or URLs I reporting those details to respective service providers. Our office kinda makes a game of it, and getting their account disabled is a win. Best wins are when their accounts are disabled while they are still on the phone with us but there are only a handful of service provider that quick.

Getting the TeamViewer details to report the account from my experience is not the easiest, they need to connect to you to get it and letting scammer into your system is rarely a good idea.

Question:

Is there a TeamViewer honeypot service, where you can give scammers the details and if they connect then their account is logged or flagged?

Or

A way to set up a way to set up TeamViewer so they can try to connect but the connection will fail but log their details? Else I am thinking about setting up a minimal Linux/Android install where it is just a blank screen and all desktop features removed or disabled and the filesystem readonly(except for the log file).

If this already exists or if there are easier ways, I would like to know before I go and re-invent the wheel.

Tagged:

Answers

• Esther
    Esther Posts: 4,052 Former Community Manager
    edited March 2022

Hi there,