Read this article in ChineseFrenchGerman | Japanese | Spanish


This article applies to all TeamViewer users.

General

You have the possibility to restrict remote access to your device by using the Block and Allowlist feature in the TeamViewer full version and the TeamViewer Host.

You can find the feature easily by clicking in your TeamViewer fullversion on Extras --> Options --> Security --> Block and Allowlist.

Let´s begin with the difference between a blocklist and an allowlist.

What is a Blocklist?

The Blocklist generally lets you prevent certain partners or devices from establishing a connection to your computer. TeamViewer accounts or TeamViewer IDs on the blocklist cannot connect to your computer.

Note: You will still be able to set up outgoing TeamViewer sessions with partners on the blocklist.

What is an Allowlist?

If you add TeamViewer accounts to the Allowlist, only these accounts will be able to connect to your computer. The possibility of a connection to your computer through other TeamViewer accounts or TeamViewer IDs will be denied

If you have joined a company profile with your TeamViewer account, you can also place the entire company profile on the Allowlist. Thus only the TeamViewer accounts that are part of the company profile can access this device.

Note: To work with a company profile you will need a TeamViewer Premium- or Corporate license

 

How to set up a Blocklist?

If you would like to deny remote access to your device to specific persons or TeamViewer IDs, we recommend setting up a Blocklist.

You can find the feature easily by clicking in your TeamViewer full version on Extras --> Options --> Security --> Block and Allowlist --> Click on Configure...

A new window will open. Activate the first option Deny access for the following partners and click on Add 

Blocklist_01.png

Note: If you activate the Also apply for meetings check box, these settings will also be applied to meetings. Contacts from your blocklist are excluded from being able to join your meetings.

After clicking on Add, you can either choose partners saved on your Computers & contacts list or add TeamViewer IDs or contacts manually to your blocklist.

Hint: You can also add devices saved on your Computer & contacts list or add TeamViewer IDs to the blocklist.

Blocklist_02.png
Blocklist_03.PNG

How to set up an Allowlist?

If you would like to allow only specific TeamViewer accounts or TeamViewer IDs remote access to your device, we recommend setting up an Allowlist.

You can find the feature easily by clicking in your TeamViewer full version on Extras --> Options --> Security --> Block and Allowlist --> Click on Configure...

A new window will open. Activate the second option Allow access only for the following partners and click on Add Blocklist_04.png

 

Note: If you activate the Also apply for meetings check box, these settings will also be applied to meetings. Only contacts from your allowlist will then be able to join your meetings.

After clicking on Add, you can either choose partners saved on your Computers & contacts list or add the whole company you are part of (only visible if you are part of a company profile) or add TeamViewer IDs or contacts manually to your allowlist. Add contacts or devices saved in your Computers & contacts listAdd contacts or devices saved in your Computers & contacts list

 Add the whole company profile you are part of (this feature is only visible if you are part of a company profile)Add the whole company profile you are part of (this feature is only visible if you are part of a company profile)

 Manually add contacts or TeamViewer IDs to your AllowlistManually add contacts or TeamViewer IDs to your Allowlist

Hint: You can also add devices saved on your Computer & contacts list or add TeamViewer IDs to the Allowlist.

 

How to delete blocklisted/allowlisted partners?

If you no longer wish to have certain partners block or allowlisted, you can easily remove them from the list.

To do so navigate in your TeamViewer full version to Extras --> Options --> Security --> Block and Allowlist --> Click on Configure... and choose whether you would like to remove partners from the Blocklist or from the Allowlist by choosing either Deny access for the following partners (Blocklist) or Allow access only for the following partner (Allowlist). Now click on the partners you would like to remove  and finally click Remove --> OKBlocklist_08.png

Note: You can choose multiple partners at once by pressing CTRG when clicking on the different partners.

Learn more about how you can benefit from a Master Allowlist: Why Master Allowlists are So Effective to Secure Customers

The following video was produced using TeamViewer 10, when the feature was introduced.

Nevertheless, the information is still accurate:

 

 

Version history
Revision #:
11 of 11
Last update:
‎16 Jul 2020, 4:13 PM
Updated by:
 
Labels (2)