Read this article in: ChineseFrenchGerman | Japanese | Spanish


This article applies to Windows users in all licenses.

Having a license with one or more channels gives you the possibility to make one or more simultaneous TeamViewer connections to your partners. The number of channels refers to the number of devices that can initialize simultaneous sessions.

No channel available

If all of your channels are in use, no further device can establish a new connection until one of the devices ends its running sessions.

In cases where a team member forgot to close a session the channel will be used until the session will be ended (manually or automatically). 

Windows users can determine the TeamViewer ID currently using a channel by going to Help -> About TeamViewer.

Click Channel Usage in the About TeamViewer windowClick Channel Usage in the About TeamViewer window

A list of the TeamViewer IDs currently in sessionsA list of the TeamViewer IDs currently in sessions

Note: TeamViewer can only display the TeamViewer ID of the device. It is not possible to display a device alias or the current user signed in to TeamViewer.

Determine inactive sessions automatically

To avoid that inactive sessions are blocking channels of your license, making it impossible to establish further TeamViewer connections, you can set up each client for timing out inactive sessions.

After a selected time, outgoing connections from the device will be determined, if they are inactive (no interaction with the remote device).

You can find this setting in the advanced TeamViewer options and it is called Timing out inactive session.

  1. Open up Menu >  Options > Advanced > Advanced settings for connections to other computers.
  2. Select a time period after which an outgoing remote control session is automatically terminated if there is no interaction in the defined period.

Determine inactive TeamViewer connections.Determine inactive TeamViewer connections.

Hint: You can enforce or assign this setting using a TeamViewer Settings Policy for all the devices used with your license. For more information, please have a look at the article about TeamViewer Settings Policies.

Forgetting about a connection

If one of your team members forgot to close a session, the TeamViewer app will close this inactive session after the pre-defined time automatically.

This feature will ensure, that your TeamViewer channels are available whenever no activity takes place.

Version history
Revision #:
5 of 5
Last update:
Friday
Updated by: