Read this article in ChineseFrenchGerman | Japanese | Spanish


This article applies to all TeamViewer users.

You have the possibility to restrict remote access to your device by using the Black and Whitelist feature in the TeamViewer fullversion.

You can find the feature easily by clicking in your TeamViewer fullversion on Extras --> Options --> Security --> Black and Whitelist.

Let´s begin with the difference between a blacklist and a whitelist.

What is a Blacklist?

The Blacklist generally lets you prevent certain partners or devices from establishing a connection to your computer. TeamViewer accounts or TeamViewer IDs on the blacklist cannot connect to your computer.

Note: You will still be able to set up outgoing TeamViewer sessions with partners on the blacklist.

What is a Whitelist?

If you add TeamViewer accounts to the Whitelist, only these accounts will be able to connect to your computer. The possibility of a connection to your computer through other TeamViewer accounts or TeamViewer IDs will be denied

If you have joined a company profile with your TeamViewer account, you can also place the entire company profile on the Whitelist. Thus only the TeamViewer accounts that are part of the company profile can access this device.

Note: To work with a company profile you will need a TeamViewer Premium- or Corporate license

How to set up a Blacklist?

If you would like to deny remote access to your device to specific persons or TeamViewer IDs, we recommend to set up a Blacklist.

You can find the feature easily by clicking in your TeamViewer fullversion on Extras --> Options --> Security --> Black and Whitelist --> Click on Configure...

A new window will open. Activate the first option Deny access for the following partners and click on Add 

Blacklist1.png

Note: If you activate the Also apply for meetings check box, these settings will also be applied to meetings. Contacts from your blacklist are excluded from being able to join your meetings.

After clicking on Add, you can either choose partners saved on your Computers & contacts list or add TeamViewer IDs or contacts manually to your blacklist.

Hint: You can also add devices saved on your Computer & contacts list or add TeamViewer IDs to the blacklist.

Blacklist2.pngAdd contacts for your Computer& contacts list
Blacklist3.pngManually add contacts or TeamViewer IDs to your Blacklist.

How to set up a Whitelist?

If you would like to allow only specific TeamViewer accounts or TeamViewer IDs remote access to your device, we recommend to set up a Whitelist.

You can find the feature easily by clicking in your TeamViewer fullversion on Extras --> Options --> Security --> Black and Whitelist --> Click on Configure...

A new window will open. Activate the second option Allow access only for the following partners and click on Add whitelist1.png

 

Note: If you activate the Also apply for meetings check box, these settings will also be applied to meetings. Only contacts from your whitelist will then be able to join your meetings.

After clicking on Add, you can either choose partners saved on your Computers & contacts list or add the whole company you are part of (only visible if you are part of a company profile) or add TeamViewer IDs or contacts manually to your whitelist. whitelist2.pngAdd contacts or devices saved in your Computers & contacts list

 whitelist3.pngAdd the whole company profile you are part of (this feature is only visible if you are part of a company profile)

 whitelist4.pngManually add contacts or TeamViewer IDs to your Whitelist

Hint: You can also add devices saved on your Computer & contacts list or add TeamViewer IDs to the Whitelist.

How to delete blacklisted/whitelisted partners?

If you no longer wish to have certain partners black or whitelisted, you can easily remove them from the list.

To do so navigate in your TeamViewer fullversion to Extras --> Options --> Security --> Black and Whitelist --> Click on Configure... and choose whether you would like to remove partners from the Blacklist or from the Whitelist by choosing either Deny access for the following partners (Blacklist) or Allow access only for the following partner (Whitelist). Now click on the partners you would like to remove  and finally click Remove --> OKRemoveblacklist.png

Note: You can choose multiple partners at once by pressing CTRG when clicking on the different partners.

Learn more about how you can benefit from a Master Whitelist: Why Master Whitelists are So Effective to Secure Customers

The following video was produced using TeamViewer 10, when the feature was introduced.

Nevertheless, the information is still accurate:

 

 

Version history
Revision #:
4 of 4
Last update:
Wednesday
Updated by:
 
Labels (2)
Contributors