This article applies to all TeamViewer users.

You have the option to share groups with with individual contacts from your Computers & Contacts list. In this way, entire groups can be made available to other contacts quickly and easily.

Note: A cloud Icon will appear next to a shared group: A grey cloud means that this group is owned by you and shared with others. A white cloud means this group is owned by someone else and shared with you.

You can share one or more groups with as many contacts as you like.

How to share groups...

...from the TeamViewer software

To share a group from the TeamViewer software to a contact that you have in your Computers & contacts list, there are two possibilities.

...via a contact

Go into the options for the contact by  simply clicking on the name in your Computers & Contacts list you would like to share the group with and click the options cog and select Shares.


Contact Options -Shares.PNG

From the Shares PopUp-window, select the groups and permissions for that user and click OK.
Contact Shares Window.PNG

 

Hint: By clicking on Share in the context menu of a contact, you can see which group(s) are being shared with the contact. Further groups can be shared with the contact through that option as well.

...via a group

Click on the group you want to share in your Computers & Contacts list. On the right side of the application a menu will appear. Click on Share. 

Share1.png

 A PopUp will appear. Click on Add... to add a contact of your Computers & Contacts list you would like to share the group with. Also, select the permissions for that user and click OK.

Contact Shares Window.PNG

...via the Management Console

...via the company profile

To share a group from the Management Console to a contact that you have in your company profile, go into User Management Window in the Management Console, hover over the user,  click the options cog and select Edit User


Share2.png

Then Select the Shares tab and select the Groups and permissions for that user and click Save.


Share Groups.PNG

Note: This can only be done once the user verifies their account.

Hint:  By clicking on Shares in the Edit User menu, you can see which group(s) are being shared with the contact. Further groups can be shared with the contact through that option as well.

...via a contact

To share a group to a contact that you have in your contacts list, hover over the contact in the Management Console and click the options cog and select Properties
Contact - Properties.PNG
Then Select the Shares tab and select the Groups and permissions for that user and click Save.
Share Groups.PNG

Hint: By clicking on Shares in the Properties menu, you can see which group(s) are being shared with the contact. Further groups can be shared with the contact through that option as well.

...via a group (Video tutorial)

 In this video tutorial you learn how to share a group through the Management Console with a contact in your Computers & contacts list.

If you would like to learn more about how the permission levels differ, please read the chapter below.

Recap of the steps shown in the video:

1. Login to the Management Console

2. Highlight the group you would like to share

3. Click the Pencil icon

4. Click Share

5. At the bottom of the window, use the drop down menu to select the contact/s you would like to share the group with

6. Use the second drop down menu to select the permission level.

7. Click Add

8. Click Save

How do the permission levels for group sharing in TeamViewer differ?

If you share your TeamViewer groups with other contacts from your Computers & Contacts list – either using the Management Console, or using the TeamViewer client – you are able to specify which permission level each contact is given.

The different levels of permission grant the contact different access rights to manage the computers and contacts inside that shared group.


Share Groups.pngLook and feel if sharing via the TeamViewer software
permission.pngLook and feel if sharing via the Management ConsoleThe following levels of permission are available:

  • Read-only: The contact can view the shared group and will be able to connect to the computers and contacts within this group. The contact cannot make changes to the group.
  • Read/Write: Extends Read-only with the ability to make changes to the group, such as delete or rename contacts and add or move contacts to the group.
  • Full Control: The contact can view the shared group in his Computers & Contacts list and can connect to the computers and contacts within this group. The contact can make changes to the group (delete or rename contacts, add contacts, etc.). The contact can re-share shared groups and move contacts and devices from a shared group to own groups. Devices that are assigned to an account can be moved within the company into another shared group.

Additional information on shared groups can be found in the TeamViewer Manual – Remote Control.

Version history
Revision #:
2 of 2
Last update:
‎28 Mar 2018, 10:33 AM
Updated by: