With the TeamViewer Black Screen-feature, you can hide the remote screen in connections to a Windows or Mac computer into a full-screen security image.
With this, you can make sure to protect your privacy at work by hiding the content of the remote screen with TeamViewer Black Screen.
Once this feature is activated,
To enable this feature, please follow our How-to guide.
Note: Currently, the TeamViewer security image is only available in our latest Insider build (v15.7.4 for Windows and v15.8 for macOS). All previous versions are showing a plain black screen. To learn more about Insider builds, please visit our article: What are TeamViewer insider builds?
You can turn the remote screen black in connections from any desktop platform OS (Windows, macOS and Linux) to any Windows device running Windows 7, 8 and 10 and to any macOS device (only for TeamViewer version 15.8 and higher). Turning the remote screen black of Linux devices is currently not supported.
Black screen on macOS is only available if a TeamViewer version 15.8 or higher is running on the remote Mac.
Due to technical restrictions, it is only possible to activate the black screen, if “Start TeamViewer with System” is selected.
In addition to that, Accessibility permissions need to be granted for the TeamViewer application. This applies also to users on macOS 10.13 who did not need this permission earlier for a successful TeamViewer remote support.
Please keep in mind: Since 10.14 (Mojave) this setting is a pre-requisite to be able to control the remote Mac.
For an optimal remote access setup, we recommend the following:
Please be aware that the keyboard input on the remote side cannot be blocked while showing system password fields due to restrictions on macOS itself.
To activate the Black Screen during a remote control session on the remote device, please click on the Actions tab in the Remote Control toolbar and choose Show Black Screen
You can set up the TeamViewer Black Screen as default in every connection to a specific device (e.g your computer at work). To do so, you need to set it up in the TeamViewer options of the remote computer you want to connect to
Or follow the instructions of this animation:
Note: Every time you will connect to this specific computer, the TeamViewer black screen will be automatically enabled and remote input will be deactivated.
Or follow the instructions shown in this animation:
Note: Every time you will connect to this specific computer, the TeamViewer black screen will be automatically enabled and remote input will be deactivated. This last procedure also works analogically when connecting to a contact.
For Windows 7 and below, to be able to turn the remote screen black, the TeamViewer monitor driver needs to be installed on the remote device. If the driver is already installed, the remote screen will turn black immediately.
If it is not installed, you will be prompted to install it when using the feature for the first time. A pop up will appear. Please click on Continue to install the driver.
You can also install the TeamViewer monitor driver via the TeamViewer settings.
Please open the setting by clicking on Extras --> Options --> Advanced --> Show advanced options --> Advanced network settings --> Install monitor driver --> click Install...
Note: Not all monitors, video cards, motherboards, or BIOS support the TeamViewer monitor driver solution, which is required to use the black screen. The TeamViewer monitor driver solution is dependent on the implementation of hardware vendors and in case of incompatibility, you may not be able to use this feature with some host computers.
Users still have the option to press the key combination Ctrl + Alt + Del (Windows) or Cmd + Option + Esc (macOS) on the remote computer.
Therefore, the user working remotely can be 100% sure that no one can see what he is doing during his remote control session. As soon as the key combination is used on the remote computer, the following pop-up will appear on both sides of the connection:
Note: Locking the user's Windows session with the Ctrl + Alt + Del combination is only working on devices running Windows 8 and 10.