What is “Trusted Devices” for your TeamViewer account?

67% helpful (2/3)

Trusted Devices provides an extra layer of security for your TeamViewer account. As a preventive measure to ensure your account's security, you need to authorize every new device on which you sign in to your account for the first time. 

  1. After signing in to the TeamViewer client with your TeamViewer account credentials on a new device for the first time, the following pop-up appears: 

    Trusted devices.png
  2. A device authorization email is sent to the email address of your TeamViewer account.
  3. Click the link within the email to authorize the device. You will be forwarded to the TeamViewer Management Console. Here, you need to complete the authorization process by clicking on the blue button Add device. trusted_device_prompt.png

    Note: the link in this email is only valid for 30 minutes. If the link expires, you will need to sign into your account once more on the new device, so that a new authorization email can be generated

  4. A message is displayed in the Management Console informing you that the new device is now a trusted device.device_successfully_added.png

Once you complete the authorization process, you are able to sign in on the new device with your TeamViewer account credentials.

As an alternative to the Trusted Devices authorization process, you can enable two-factor authentication on your account instead. If you are using two-factor authentication, then the Trusted Devices authorization email won’t be required anymore when you sign into your account on a new device.

You can find more information about two-factor authentication here.

Version history
Revision #:
3 of 3
Last update:
a month ago
Updated by:
 
Labels (1)