Time for TeamViewer to Consider a SaaS Licensing Model?

ferthalangur
ferthalangur Posts: 1
edited February 2023 in General questions

I am going to bend the letter, but not the spirit, of Esther's User Guideline #13. I believe that this is a discussion that should take place between the TeamViewer User Community and TeamViewer Corporate, and not something to be relegated to one-on-one coversations with the sales staff.

Context: until recently, I worked as a sysadmin at a small research institution that was part of a well-endowed U.S. university. We switched to TeamViewer 9 after our previous remote control service (rhymes with HogZeBin) abruptly changed their pricing scheme without notice and quite egregiously. TeamViewer technology served our needs and the TV Business license worked for us, although our management had concerns about the lack of availability of a maintenance contract to protect our investment. When the first bump from TV 9 to TV 10 happened, we were offered a discounted upgrade price for our licenses. We had the same bump from TV10 to TV11. I'm not there any longer, but presumably they received some offer to upgrade to TV12. With forward incompatibility of licenses, it is difficult to stick with an older version of the software for very long. However, the annual release of a new major revision of the software requiring the purchase of a license upgrade is starting to cause existing customers some heartburn. I don't think it has reached the same level of anger and mistrust that led many of us to switch to TeamViewer from the aforementioned company, or to divest our enterprises of any software that is subsequently acquired by that company. Not yet.