Can't wake up from when out of network

fanisp
fanisp Posts: 5
edited May 2023 in General questions

Hi all, 

I'm new to teamviewer. Trying to set it up so I can access my macbook when I'm not home from my tablet. I enabled everything (including the settings for wifi wake on the laptop (energy section) and also added the id of the tablet on the wake settings,  but still I''m not able to do  - any tips?

Comments

• DomLan
    DomLan Posts: 490 ⭐Star⭐

Hi @fanisp,

there is a summary of how the WOL mechanism from TeamViewer was conceived.
    In the first steps the following is reported:

Note: It’s not possible to wake up a Mac computer that is fully powered down, as Apple doesn’t allow this. Macs can only be woken up from sleep mode. Windows and Linux PCs, however, can be woken up from sleep and hibernation mode as well as being fully powered down, so long as the hardware supports this. 

Is this your case?

Regards.

Domenico Langone

MCSD: App Builder

• fanisp
    Thank you

No it's not powered down- just on sleep. I have a Google WiFi router - maybe I have to change a few things there but have no clue what. Even though  when I am home on the same network and try to wake up my MacBook remotely it won't do 
  • DomLan

Well... try to connect your laptop to ethernet port on router instead using WiFi. It works?

Domenico Langone

• fanisp

My laptop doesn't have an ethernet port. I also did the very same thing with my Imac which is connected to ethernet - it doeesnt awake from teamviewer - is there official support that they respond? 

• DomLan

Hi @fanisp.

As the name of the portal indicates, it is a community. As far as possible, all the components try to offer their support. It is possible that TeamViewer staff members can answer you, but it is possible that the first answer is purely interlocutory and aimed at acquiring more information about your configuration. In three posts it was possible to understand that:
    - you have a mac, without an ethernet port;