Posted by tvuser12
Digon

Conditional access to specific users?

Hi

Is it possible to manage from which devices users are able to connect to our managed Teamviewer hosts? We don't want to allow users connecting to our resources from any device, through TeamViewer Management Console portal or TeamViewer client.

Example "policy":

User A is only allowed to create a remote control session to corporate Teamviewer resources from User A's corporate device.

Is this possible to implement from TeamViewer management policy perspective?

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Posted by Community Manager
Community Manager
Solution

Re: Conditional access to specific users?

Hi there,

we released a new feature called Conditional Access.

Please feel free to read this Knowledge Base article to learn more about it Get started - Conditional Access 

Thanks and best,

Esther

5 Replies
Posted by tvuser12
Digon

Re: Conditional access to specific users?

Anyone?

Posted by Senior Moderator Senior Moderator
Senior Moderator

Re: Conditional access to specific users?

Hello @tvuser12,

Thank you for your post. 

You do have the ability to restrict remote access to your devices by using the Black and Whitelist feature of TeamViewer! 

You can find the feature easily by clicking in your TeamViewer fullversion on Extras --> Options --> Security --> Black and Whitelist.2018-10-23 09_43_36-TeamViewer.png

With a whitelist set up, you can restrict who can connect to the devices by simply adding their credentials to the whitelist itself.2018-10-23 09_55_18-TeamViewer.png

Usually, you would add user accounts to the whitelist, to ensure they can only access devices when logged in. However, this would mean any device they log in to their TeamViewer account with could access said devices.

In your case, where you want to restrict which devices can access the managed hosts,you can instead add the TeamViewer ID of the approved devices; this is done by clicking Configure and then Manually Add Contact to your whitelist, as seen above.

To apply a whitelist "en masse" to all of your managed hosts, you can set this in a TeamViewer policy, via Design & Deploy in the Management Console 2018-10-23 10_02_20-TeamViewer Management Console.png

For more information on whitelists, please see the following knowledgebase article.

Hope this helps!

Josh P.
Senior Moderator

If my reply answered your question, help out other users and click the Accept as a Solution  button below.

You can also say thanks by clicking on the Thumbs Up button!

Thanks for being an active member of our Community!

Japanese Community (日本語コミュニティ) |  Chinese Community (中文社区) |  German Community (Deutschsprachig) | French Community (Communauté française) | English Community | Spanish Community (Comunidad española)

Posted by tvuser12
Digon

Re: Conditional access to specific users?

So there is no way to restrict access from specific devices centrally from the Management Console? Only manually at the Host configuration? This is a no go for us, it would mean manual work for hundreds of computers.
Posted by Senior Moderator Senior Moderator
Senior Moderator

Re: Conditional access to specific users?

Hello @tvuser12,

Great question!

The black and whitelist can be set up and deployed via a TeamViewer Policy, which can be set up in the Management Console 2018-10-24 09_50_19-TeamViewer Management Console.png2018-10-24 09_50_45-TeamViewer Management Console.png2018-10-24 09_51_07-TeamViewer Management Console.png

If you already have a Policy deployed to the devices, simply add the black and whitelist to the current policy. You only need set it up once, and after it will be deployed to all managed devices.

If you do not have a policy, simply create a new one by clicking the +Add Policy button! Add the whitelist and any other parameters you would like to remotely control/prevent users from modifying to a new policy, and once done you will be able to push it to all assigned devices.

Hope this helps clarify!

Josh P.
Senior Moderator

If my reply answered your question, help out other users and click the Accept as a Solution  button below.

You can also say thanks by clicking on the Thumbs Up button!

Thanks for being an active member of our Community!

Japanese Community (日本語コミュニティ) |  Chinese Community (中文社区) |  German Community (Deutschsprachig) | French Community (Communauté française) | English Community | Spanish Community (Comunidad española)

Highlighted
Posted by Community Manager
Community Manager
Solution

Re: Conditional access to specific users?

Hi there,

we released a new feature called Conditional Access.

Please feel free to read this Knowledge Base article to learn more about it Get started - Conditional Access 

Thanks and best,

Esther