New version is horrible... considering alternatives.

Options
124

Answers

  • LakeShore
    LakeShore Posts: 16 ✭✭
    Options

    On the right path.


    64-bit version of host, please.


    and a "tight spacing " view in the full app for us admins please.

  • FakeName
    FakeName Posts: 19 ✭✭
    edited June 2023
    Options

    And don't make us download multiple different programs to do what we do just fine today with one program.


    Edit: Wait, they just made it look like the old version except a whole bunch more wasted space? Hahaha

  • Labsy
    Labsy Posts: 40 ✭✭
    edited July 2023
    Options

    [removed per Community Guidelines] Leaving TeamViewer after 13 years, sad to go, but this new redesign was now drop over the edge. So to sum up:

    • non-user-friendly redesign, harder for my eyes, annoying to work with, juvenile design with lack of practicality
    • Client HOST module sometimes works, sometimes not. Sometimes device is added to my account, sometimes not. Frustrating and getting worse by time.
    • Easy Access is getting turned ON by itself. I never turned it ON anywhere, but with recent updates and changes more and more computers just do not ask me for remote password anymore, I just fall into remote screen, which is - if you ask me- security flaw. TV support says to turn it OFF, I say I never turned it ON at the first place, so TV did it, so let TV turn it back OFF! Geez...
    • Sporadic mess with remote computer names...now I must rename it on remote PC, then on my central PC, then in Management Console...then AGAIN on my PC, but with new GUI turned ON (Gez...), but yet when I connect to it, it has old name in remote tab. Disaster!
    • After all those years, still a problem with resolving some stale computers in my account. Say, a PC pops up on list of my computers with a name "DESKTOP-6H3D1IU". Cannot see any usefull details, like it's LAN or WAN IP or computer details to get a clue, who it belongs to. Not a deal breaker, but till now it was tolerable, now it just adds to a pile of annoyances.

    So, sorry TV, I am leaving, too.

  • LakeShore
    LakeShore Posts: 16 ✭✭
    Options

    I'm trying to work through these issues myself. The most reduction in productivity is the lack of detail on each client's status in the Full app that I use for admin. I manage almost 100 PCs and I need to see them all at a glance in a sortable list and as much detail as possible so I can see which need attention.

    Please make a "Detailed" view in the Full client for us that allows us to see any column of detail we want and sort by that column. Seems like you let us "Add Filters", but let us add columns of client details like number of missing patches and sort by them please.

    The ability to create Dynamic groups would also be appreciated. Like "name = 123** " and "module = Host" and "offline 30 days"

    Also please make a "tight" spacing view and let us resize the window to any size we want.

    In the old version, you could also click on a client's name to connect immediately, now you have to hover over the client's name, then click "Connect" on the far right.

  • Labsy
    Labsy Posts: 40 ✭✭
    edited July 2023
    Options

    Especially this hovering effect when you mouse over the list of clients is irritating to me. But I guess design is following Microsoft trends, which also retired good old yellow folder view and went with anemic, flat and dead design, where sliders and options pop up everywhere as you mouseover them, and sections are not clearly fenced, all is blended into a corps-like design, as vampires would **bleep** blood out of it. As per my oppinion :)

  • JeanK
    JeanK Posts: 7,015 Community Manager 🌍
    Options

    @LakeShore, thanks a lot for your constructive feedback.

    Currently, we have the columns Name, Status, Device type, Module, Group, and Service.

    Could you name the exact column parameters you want to see in the future and explain the use case behind them? That would be a great help for our product team to prioritize the feature requests.

    Thanks in advance for your support!

    /JeanK

    Community Manager

  • JeanK
    JeanK Posts: 7,015 Community Manager 🌍
    Options

    @Labsy thanks a lot for sharing your thoughts and what is irritating you on the interface.

    To just make sure I understand what you mean by "hovering effect" - do you mean this grey area that appears when hovering over a device?

    If yes, could you tell us why it is irritating you? Is it because you are doing a specific task? Trying to understand so that I can give proper feedback to the product team.

    Or do you mean something else?

    Thanks a lot in advance for your help.

    /JeanK

    Community Manager

  • LakeShore
    LakeShore Posts: 16 ✭✭
    Options

    I do not like the hovering behavior either. It creates blank space on the screen and prevents you from resizing the window so you have blank screen space for no reason. Please show the double arrows at all times and when the double arrows are clicked, immediately connect to the client. Remove the word "Connect" and just show the word "Connect" when hovering over the double arrows. Also, move the double arrows closer to the PC name, either on the right or left of the PC name.


    When looking for a PC to connect to, why mouse all the way over to the right, while hovering exactly, to connect to a PC? We came here to connect to a PC so make that as easy and obvious as possible.

  • LakeShore
    LakeShore Posts: 16 ✭✭
    Options

    The column names could be any machine property. If we have your asset management, which I do, that should open up more properties to see and sort by.

    CPU, Ram, % free space, OS version, last OS login, all are useful.

  • Labsy
    Labsy Posts: 40 ✭✭
    Options

    @JeanK , thank you for asking about irritating hover mouseover effect.

    Yes, this is on the list of computers, where checkbox on the left and Connect with 3 dots on the right pop up in blank space when you go over with mouse. I have been in a team of software developers in the past and we've had some psychologysts and brain specialists as advisers for software development. They pointed out some facts, which we should keep in mind when designing user interfaces, among those:

    • Brain likes to bring things in balanced order, so to have predictive paths to future. So developers should make GUI predictible and clear to human brains, so it can distinguish where which section begins, where are the borders, and what is what.
    • In same manner, all blinking effects, pop-ups and changes are irritating to eyes for the simmilar reason: brain needs to analyze what popped up, what's there blinking and adopt to new situation. So if list is changing when hovering with mouse ofer list items, eyes constantly send new signals to brain, which needs to re-think new situation again and again.
    • As my experinece is from times when Windows first introduced that anemic, flat design, which lacks colours and borders between sections, our instructors explicitly told us to try to avoid that blended-in, flat design, without distinctions between sections. Brain wants to hook up on borders and have it fixed in predictive area, so it can ignotre this area. If we ommit borders and visible distinctions, brain has nothing to adhere to and it constantly works, analyzing and rethingking the interface.

    So, from my experince and my personal point of view, list of computers is much, much more readable if it is stable, has less space inbetween, and nothing changes with mouse over.

    I hope this makes sense.

  • Metalfan331
    Metalfan331 Posts: 1
    edited July 2023
    Options

    [removed per Community Guidelines]


    How I felt after the update. Hi, long time user here. I have elderly parents/remote users that require a lot of computer help as well as family overseas and teamviewer was instrumental in keeping things going. Now it's a nightmare. Instead of "Just enter a code and click OK" teamviewer wants me to have 70+ year old's create an account, login, log into email to verify, then go back and authenticate, then add browser to the BS management console, then read the tiny print on the UI that's so small we spend another half hour reading the letters back and forth on the phone...and I'm going to do this for every single one? Yeah ok.

    This program is junk now. I'll relay my experience to my colleagues in the IT field as well, as a warning and to go find something else.

  • FakeName
    FakeName Posts: 19 ✭✭
    Options

    I've talked with upper management and I can't get rid of teamviewer completely. I need to keep one channel (down from 5) to support a dozen users.


    Is there a way to do a "bulk update" of my computers? They are all set with a username/password now, and I have 10 users under my account that have 10 or 20 devices they connect to.


    I need a way to automate this to allow easy-access or whatever is replacing passwords. I am not creating an account for all of the devices, there's just no way I can do that. Do I just hit MIGRATE on this guide? https://community.teamviewer.com/English/kb/articles/109705-update-your-devices


    I have begun migrating the bulk of my 200 computers to a web based Connecting tool which is phenomenal so far.

  • JeanK
    JeanK Posts: 7,015 Community Manager 🌍
    Options

    Hi @FakeName,

    If your devices are assigned to your account (like explained here: Assign a device to your account), then yes, you can migrate them by following the guide Update your devices.

    Devices that have been bookmarked, in other words, devices that have been manually added like this: Add computers in TeamViewer (Classic) cannot be migrated.

    You'll have to link them again to your company by following this guide: How to set up remote access and manage a remote device. Alternatively, you can also deploy TeamViewer via .msi via this guide: Mass deployment on Windows - Overview (Corporate license required).

    Let me know if you have any further questions! I'll be happy to assist.

    /JeanK

    Community Manager

  • JeanK
    JeanK Posts: 7,015 Community Manager 🌍
    Options

    Hi @Labsy,

    Thank you so much for sharing this input. We'll pass this on to our UX/UI team! 🙏

    /JeanK

    Community Manager

  • FakeName
    FakeName Posts: 19 ✭✭
    edited July 2023
    Options

    Alright, so I have to go in to every single device and assign it to an account.

    Then verify the email, add to trusted devices.

    Then retype my username/password a second time in order to add it to my devices.


    Thats... That's really more work than just installing a **Third Party Product** installer. If I have to log into every single device anyway and type my ID/password twice, then it's just easier to install a new program.


    Are there plans to allow migrating computers using an ID and Password to connect?

  • joloriquelme
    joloriquelme Posts: 13 ✭✭
    Options

    I really tried to like or use the new interface.

    But no. It's almost impossible.

    Today I've tried to connect to a client that was appearing "Sleeping" on the new UI, but "On" on the older one. I had to switch to older interface to connect.

    TeamViewer have until december to fix this mess. Otherwise, I will have to switch to another solution after 11 years.

  • cwernstedt
    cwernstedt Posts: 1
    Options

    New teamviewer on Mac is extremely unstable. I have to restart it frequently in order to connect to user machines. User interface just goes dead.

    Also tons of issues after updates on the end user machines themselves. TeamViewer needs re-installation.

    Will look for other options for remote support. Can't continue like this with surprise updates that remove functionality or cause problems. This is software that needs to be 100% solid in order to support a world wide dispersed organization .

  • LakeShore
    LakeShore Posts: 16 ✭✭
    Options

    We need to be able to customize this toolbar ASAP please:

    My go to functions like "lock" and "show all screens" are way to nested in menus now.

  • JeanK
    JeanK Posts: 7,015 Community Manager 🌍
    Options

    @LakeShore I checked with the product team and I can already tell: it's in our plans to make the toolbar customizable!

    However, I cannot name any timeline for when it will be implemented. I'll make sure to inform you in this thread when it's available. Hope that works for you. 🙂

    Community Manager

  • JeanK
    JeanK Posts: 7,015 Community Manager 🌍
    Options

    @FakeName There is no plan to allow migrating computers that were manually added via ID and password.

    Community Manager

  • LakeShore
    LakeShore Posts: 16 ✭✭
    Options

    Great! but no need to inform me, I'm in TeamViewer hours every day!

  • JeanK
    JeanK Posts: 7,015 Community Manager 🌍
    Options

    @LakeShore Our team is currently evaluating the 64-bit Host topic.

    Could you please let us know why and how you would benefit from a 64-bit Host version?

    For which technical (or non-technical) reasons would you like to have it?

    This would be such a great help! Many thanks in advance for your support!

    /JeanK

    Community Manager

  • LakeShore
    LakeShore Posts: 16 ✭✭
    Options

    My new best friend says exactly why 64bit is better than 32bit:

    The preference for 64-bit software over 32-bit software in a corporate environment (or any environment for that matter) is primarily due to the following advantages:

    1. Memory Handling: The most significant advantage of 64-bit software is the ability to handle and utilize a significantly larger amount of RAM compared to 32-bit software. A 32-bit system can support up to 4GB of RAM, whereas a 64-bit system can theoretically support over 18 million TB of RAM. While current technology doesn't reach this theoretical limit, it does allow for systems to use tens or hundreds of GBs of RAM, which can be crucial for resource-intensive applications such as large databases, data analysis tools, design software, and more.
    2. Performance: 64-bit processors can handle larger data types and do more work per clock cycle. They can have more cores, and most of the software written today is optimized for a 64-bit architecture. Therefore, these applications run more efficiently and perform better on 64-bit software.
    3. Security: 64-bit systems can benefit from added security measures such as hardware-enforced DEP (Data Execution Prevention), a security feature that can help prevent damage from viruses and other security threats by monitoring programs to make sure they use system memory safely.
    4. Software Compatibility: Most new software and applications are being designed with 64-bit architecture in mind. While many of these applications also have 32-bit versions, the trend is moving toward 64-bit exclusive applications. By using 64-bit software, corporations can ensure they're able to use the latest and most efficient software.
    5. Scalability: As corporations grow, their computing needs also grow. Having a 64-bit architecture allows for this growth as it can support the addition of more memory and robust software applications.


  • jbush
    jbush Posts: 46 ✭✭
    Options

    At OS level I'd think it probably performs better, and you probably also get more security with 64bit apps. Then secondly, why not? You built a 64bit version of Teamviewer which I would wager was for some of the same reasons. ;D

  • jbush
    jbush Posts: 46 ✭✭
    Options

    OK...@LakeShore went into a LOT more detail than me. So what he said. lol

  • ohansen
    ohansen Posts: 1
    Options

    New user interface looks like it's designed by somebody who have never worked with the software, or people that should never be allowed to develop user interfaces..

    Keep it simple. Just used 30 minutes with a customer to be able to connect to him, a job that normally took 5 minutes.

  • LakeShore
    LakeShore Posts: 16 ✭✭
    edited July 2023
    Options

    So I did a lot of **bleep** above, but the Asset Management section in the new full client is looking nicer.

    TV, you have a long way to go but bringing functionality out of the web sites to the full client is appreciated.

    Now 64bit Host, customizable columns, condensed console view, customizable remote control screen toolbars, ... and backup and android device support migrated to new version, please.

  • FreddyN
    FreddyN Posts: 1
    Options

    Very seldom do I ever comment on forums but in this case it is necessary.


    The new interface is absolutely terrible, nothing is coherent. I have been using TV for at least 10 years and this is a complete nightmare.

    Nothing is logical. It's not apparent how to create, save or connect to users. With the old interface everything is laid out in an ergonomical manner, it's obvious where you have to do things... Why change that ?



    The new software has been designed by Web Designers and not TV support staff... It is an utter shambles.

    The interface is not constant, as though different teams were used to design different element and did not speak to each other during the process..


    The Home page : What purpose does it actually serve ? Add a Photo, is this a joke ?

    Tele-assistance : Why would this take précédence over Devices.. The majority of people using this are support staff not users.

    Devices : Why is there not "star"/add direct to favorites" button as there was in the previous interface, it is "extremely " useful when dealing with a company full of contacts.

    I had a use give me his ID Yesterday, the new interface showed that the user was not available, I connect to the old interface and every was fine... Reconnect to the new and the user was not available. This is completely unacceptable, the frustration for both the user and myself is unbearable. I can understand that new software has bugs, but when the main function does not work then some other thinking has to be done..

    I hate giving negative remarks on software but this is just impossible not to do. Please, please, please give the software to people who actually provide support and let them debug the ergonomics etc before pushing this out.. The design leader needs to be replaced by someone that actually used the software... This is an example of a solution looking for a problem...

    Please remove this "alpha" testing until some serious thought has been put into the design...


    The old interface works what possible reason is there for changing it.. If it's financial then you will lose your customer base...

  • JeanK
    JeanK Posts: 7,015 Community Manager 🌍
    Options

    @FreddyN thanks a lot for sharing your thoughts. You don't have to feel bad to sharing negative feedback about the new interface. In fact, we are very grateful for it. This helps us improving and addressing customer pain points to our respective teams.

    What I can take from the feedback:

    • You want to have the Device tab before the Remote Support tab, as you need it more often.
    • You would like to have the ability to "add devices as favourite".
    • You don't see the need for the current Home page.
      • What would you like to have in a Home page, given that they will be one?

    Could you to go even a little more into detail what you don't like, or in which direction you would like to see the new interface developing? The more we have concrete feedback, the more we can cluster it and address it to our teams.

    Thanks in advance for your help and support!

    Community Manager

  • joloriquelme
    joloriquelme Posts: 13 ✭✭
    Options

    Jean,

    Cancel this disaster. Go back to the drawing board and start from the scratch.

    And only tweak UI.

    This kind of "reinvention" for sure damaged your business. I am not renewing TeamViewer for another period.