Help with unattended access - codes expire before they can be used

Options
Remora52
Remora52 Posts: 3 ✭✭
edited April 4 in General questions

the access codes generated by my remote clients are now expiring sometimes before they can be used others are only good for 1 use. until now when an unattended code was generated by my client it would last a week maybe 10 days. My client is running the free personal edition. I have been researching this on TeamViewer support website but the instructions are vague and the new interface does not display the features and/or labels to correspond with the instructions. Can anyone provide clear instructions to guide through the process to set up unattended access that will remain in place for an extended period of time? Does my client have to have a paid license with the full product installed? I cannot find the "Host" installation - not sure if terminology has changed since the videos were made. I am fairly new to TV and finding help has become a full time job!!!!

Tagged:

Best Answer

• JeanK
    JeanK Posts: 6,989 Community Manager 🌍
    Answer ✓
    Options

Hi @Remora52,

The keep current option will only keep the current password as long as the end user does not restart TeamViewer.

If the end user restarts TeamViewer, the password will change. For security reasons, there is no way to prevent this with the random password.

If you need unattended access to the remote device, we recommend following the instructions explained here: Provide unattended remote support

Long story short, we recommend to install the Host on the remote device and assign the device to your account. Once you did this, you'll be able to connect to the remote device with a simply double click!

📌Note: The fact that you have a commercial license and your end-user has a personal license is not a problem at all. As long as you have the commercial license, you can do unlimited connections without any issues.

Let me know if this is a good solution for you.