[Bug] QuickSupport app on macOS does not support teamviewer8 URL scheme

Hi,

This is a bug report about the TeamViewer QuickSupport.app for macOS (I'm a Mac app developer, meaning I know what I'm talking about, and I don't need help).

The QuickSupport app (15.2.2756) does not work with the quicksupport.me link to launch the already installed app because it does not register the URL scheme as it should.

I mean the link titled "Launch application":

The proof for the bug can be found in the app's Info.plist, where the entry CFBundleURLTypes is missing. The full app contains it, so if the full app is installed, the teamviewer8://instantsupport/?sid=… links work.

Please confirm and have this fixed. Thank you.

Tagged:

Best Answer

• MoreCoffee
    MoreCoffee Posts: 49 Staff member 🤠
    Answer ✓

Thanks for your detailed feedback, @thtempelmann. I'll forward it to the responsible team.

Answers

• MoreCoffee

Hi @thtempelmann,

Thanks for your report. This link is intended for users who already have the full TeamViewer client installed on their Mac and therefore do not need to download TeamViewer QuickSupport.

If TeamViewer QuickSupport were also to register this URL scheme, users who have both the full TeamViewer client installed, as well as one or more copies of TeamViewer QuickSupport on their Mac, would experience undefined behavior as the link might no longer open their installed TeamViewer client.

Hope this answers your questions. Let me know if I can help you further.

• I think that you're still providing a bad user experience the way this works now, even if intentionally.

Here's why:

1. This is (probably) used by those who are new to TeamViewer, e.g. when, like in my case, I want to help a friend out and then have them sent the quicksupport.me link to get them started. These users only need the QS app and may choose to install it for that reason.