teamviewer.com link icon
or
Ask The Community

Error: You established and aborted connections too frequently?

124»

Comments

  • tdenson
    tdenson Posts: 15 ✭✭

    Just hit this problem again. Trying to help out a friend who was just about to go out. She switched on her computer and I attempted a connection which failed of course. I then hit connect a few times while waiting for the machine to come online and sure enough I got the message saying I had connected too frequently and was barred access. At no point did I even attempt to put in a password. She had to go out so I couldn't help her. What a ridiculous state of affairs. Exactly what is this preventing. I did not brute force the password attempt, I didn't even have one attempt. 4 or 5 attempts to remotely access the machine in a space of a couple of minutes is hardly a DDOS attack. Why on earth won't you do something about ths TV ?

  • Seriously this is your reply? I have 2000+ liceenses and am considering droping this product because of this.

    1: The rate at which I am click is not what a Brute force attack would be doing.

    Okay maybe you can't come up with a better way of dealing with this, but you should eb able to.

    2: The lack of definite time. 

    Just fix it, this is not security nor technical. Fix it you have many requests.

    3: Rethink your security. 

    This is not an industry wide issue. Look at what others are doing. Your customers are asking for better from you.

     

     

     

  • TV,  this is really frustrating , espeically when dealing with remote support + network engeinerring type scenarios.

    Can you guys please,  either:

    1- use a more intelligent system to detect/block bruteforcers - (ie IF you are logged in a paid acct, AND use 2fa, AND are using the same IP you usualy use, THEN relax these BF detection a small amount)

    2- provide the amount of time we need to wait- (make it random if you trying to avoid BFers timing their attacks).

    the current system, for paid users, is unacceptable - (for free users, i get it)

    thanks

  • tdenson
    tdenson Posts: 15 ✭✭

    You are wasting your time. Nobody in TV support takes any notice of this thread, it is an utter disgrace.

  • angryhobbiest
    angryhobbiest Posts: 2 ✭✭

    teamviewer will never fix the bug they think a highly flawed brute force protection system will never be a problem for legit users because they asume all people have rock solid ethernet-only connections(even on the mobile app which is false 99% of the time) and the servers and clients are on gigabit internet and never peak over 10% cpu usage like their perfect testing setup

    this thread will never be listened to wil us simply asking for a "reset brute force lockout" local button or "disable brute force protection" checkbox

    honestly a reset button is all we ask it can even be required to be locally clicked by the user we are trying to help

    heck most of us want just a time value displayed perhaps with a random lockout each time to prevent scripting but no more than a wait of 3 hours perhaps 0.5-3 hours at random

    although I care little about ddos/brute force protection as a good passowrd should always be enough of a minimum security so I ask for an "unstable connection/machine" checkbox to force loose brute force rules thereby allowing all failed connections that never reach a password prompt to be ignored in the attack counter

     

  • KulGery
    KulGery Posts: 2

    I'm not understand, how can anyone hack the system, if host not reachable.
    But I need to connect relatively urgent to this host, to solve local issue. Or install urgent update.
    So I try to connect frequently, maybe the host will be available.

    And It's very annoying thet within a minute it tells me I can't join, only after a while.

     

  • tdenson
    tdenson Posts: 15 ✭✭

    @KulGery wrote:

    I'm not understand, how can anyone hack the system, if host not reachable.
    But I need to connect relatively urgent to this host, to solve local issue. Or install urgent update.
    So I try to connect frequently, maybe the host will be available.

    And It's very annoying thet within a minute it tells me I can't join, only after a while.

     


    You have to understand that TV support as far as this thread is concerned have their fingers in their ears and are going "La La La". 

    We all agree it is very frustrating and ridiculous, but do they listen ?

  • BlameYou
    BlameYou Posts: 1

    The protection is used to protect TeamViewer's own servers, not users' equipment whatever are licensed or not.  This should be the real official answer.

  • JimAK
    JimAK Posts: 8 ✭✭

    TeamView Support team

    This issue has been open for over 3.5 years. At the very least a software fix should have been provided letting us know how many seconds or minutes have to pass before we can again remotely connect.

    Can you explain why this hasn't been provided yet and who we need to email to get it escalated?

    Thank you

    James.

  • tdenson
    tdenson Posts: 15 ✭✭

    The situation hasn't changed but we all seem to be getting tired of complaining. Perhaps this is TV's modus operandum for support. "La La La" until we go away. It's happened twice to me in the last couple of days, clicking connect a number of times because the person I'm trying to help has a lousy internet connection. I never even got to the password prompt. So I say "I'll call you back but I don't know when" - just how professional does that sound ?

  • Ramrunner
    Ramrunner Posts: 1
    edited May 2021

    Yep - I'm a reseller and this kind of **bleep**(and other stupid things like not allowing more than one 3 device license on the same account, and simply stupid pricing) is why I don't sell it unless a customer specifically asks.


    Teamviewer has never understood it's customers and never will. They have an awesome product that should be making them billions but **bleep** too many people off.

    I say just don't use it.

  • pocwiard
    pocwiard Posts: 2 ✭✭

    I am using TeamViewer for professional support to the customers. Often they have intermittent internet connection. I have to click many times to connect and often get disconnected.

    The nonsense message "you established connection too frequently" when working with intermittent connection is such a pain and really limits the use of TeamViewer for me. One of the worst things you could do, to stop your customers from being able to connect.

    Such a design flaw.

  • JonnyGators
    JonnyGators Posts: 2 ✭✭
    edited June 2021

    This "feature" put me into a difficult situation where I had an end user on the phone I couldn't help due to you blocking my attempts to connect. The frequent aborted connections? Your **bleep** service failing to connect in the first place. Then I finally get in, get back to helping - another drop - and you block me.

    Absolutely unacceptable for your "features" to block me from doing my job!

    Security efforts like these only impair the legit end users - you make things so secure, only a hacker can actually do anything!

  • Corona312
    Corona312 Posts: 1 Newbie
    edited June 2021

    We are having this issue as well "you established and aborted connections too frequently. Please wait for a while before the next connection.

    What is the amount of time to be able to reconnect?

    Like others requested please use a different approach to blocking connections such as CAPTCHA, we are a new paid customer and already having this issue.

    We never had this issue with "Third Party Product", but can see us having this issue more frequently with more use.

  • joefox97
    joefox97 Posts: 1 Newbie
    edited July 2021

    Going to ring in and agree with everyone else. TeamViewer's defensive posture about this poorly designed and implemented feature is inexcusable. You wrote **bleep** poor software; that's fine -- just go back and do a better job and implement the feature a different way. The current solution is embarrassingly bad -- and sufficient to cause us to go find alternative solutions if you refuse to change it.

  • didikunz
    didikunz Posts: 1 Newbie
    edited August 2021

    HELLO SUPPORT!!!

    This tread is 4 (in words FOUR) years old and the problem persistes. Is anybody at TeamViewer interested in keeping their customers? Can we get rid of that **bleep**? Or at least get an option to disable that for a given account? It is a EXTREMLY ANOYING THING. If security keeps you from supporting your clients it is a bad thing, that destroys the reputation of TeamViewer and of the one trying to give support to a client (me).

    Does anybody care? Interessiert das bei Euch jemand?

  • AlenaC
    AlenaC Posts: 833 Moderator

    Thank you all for your posts,

    please keep in mind that as @Jeremy explained on the first page this is a security measure.

    If you have an idea to change it or feature request, I would recommend putting it on our ideas hub. As soon as any of you publish it, others will be able to upvote it. Our developers check this section regularly looking for the most voted.

    Thanks in advance

    Best, Alena

    Spanish Community Moderator :)

  • Andy_W
    Andy_W Posts: 1 ✭✭

    The real question is why the number is not exact, surely the timeout restriction has a particular value when, there's no way it can be a range, or if it is, that's quite possibly the worst implementation i've ever seen.


    @AlenaC That post was lacking as I've mentioned above. It seems even you guys don't know what the correct timeout value is, so who does? Can we have some input from one of the actual engineers? Somebody did post a solution, if the device doing the connecting is a trusted device, then it should not trigger the lockout, since it's a trusted source. I can understand if you're being hit by thousands of different ip addresses, then yes, it makes sense to prevent them from brute forcing; but what's the point in having a trusted device if the system treats it as hostile anyway?

  • Johancgfh
    Johancgfh Posts: 1
    edited March 2

    I can not believe that this is a feature of TeamViewer, it's beyond insane. Infuriating and insulting.

    I need to connect to my mothers computer, to assist her in ordering her food for the next week.

    I was waiting for her to start her TeamViewer, meanwhile I was trying to connect on my side, pressing Connect again and again, waiting for it to work. And then I got hit with this **bleep**. I NEED TO HELP MY MOTHER ORDER HER FOOD!

    You have ONE JOB, TeamViewer. And you are preventing me from doing mine. Who is in control of these computers, and this software? I AM! **bleep** ME! Don't tell me I can not do what I want to do, ON MY OWN **bleep** COMPUTER!

    My patience is REALLY wearing thin with you guys.

    And no I don't want to raise a support request or whatever **bleep** it is that needs to be done. YOU DO IT. Fix your **bleep**. This is UNACCEPTABLE.

  • Lucasbs
    Lucasbs Posts: 7 ✭✭
    edited January 8

    I can't believe you guys still use teamviewer with so many alternatives out there.


    It's overwhelming the terrible software, terrible support (not even the developers know the lockout time), and some indescribably embarrassing engineering and security choices.


    Yet, people PAY for this !

  • BuscusDude
    BuscusDude Posts: 1 Newbie

    The excuse that this is to protect from DDOSing or whatever they find is absolute NFT (Another word for shenanigan). I sit across my work partner and I wanted to connect to his PC. His TeamViewer was open, and he was waiting for me to connect, however I get the stupid "Connection could not be established make sure you are connected to the Internet or restart your TeamViewer" or something along those lines. So, we both restarted our TeamViewers and still couldn't connect. Out of frustration, I spammed the connect button and got the timeout. This is bizarre, because not only are we connected to the same Internet, HAVE THE SAME IP, same every network configuration you can think of, because we are both on the same Terminal Server. So, please, explain to me how and why is this possible?