Commercial use - Connection time out

Options
1187188190192193413

Comments

  • stk1987
    stk1987 Posts: 1
    Options

    Hello, I have a problem with one of my PC's using TeamViewer Free. Its a win 10 Enterprise and i cant really use it for long because it sees it as a commercial PC but it is not. The PC is my personal computer. The pc came with enterprise installed. How can i fix this with out changing the windows addition?

  • rsaybe
    rsaybe Posts: 1
    Options

    Hello, it looks like my situation is quite common with this remote application. I never realized this untill I saw the many other posts. Also seems like many of the free users are not receiving resolutions in a timely manner.

    In any event, I have also fallen victum of this. I'm not able to log onto my personal home computer anymore using teamviewer. I have a few computers at home belonging to several of our family members. My children and spouse including mine.

    Using teamviewer to log onto our personal home computers have been helpful. Up untill yesterday, one of my computers is not allowing me to log onto that device using team viewer. I keep recieving the following error message;

    "It seems there might be a licensing problem with your connection partner. Connecting to this device requires a valid Teamviewer license for your connection partner".

    This device that I'm connecting to is not a commercially used computer but rather our personal home computer. Not sure why the system would detect this as such and inadvertantly flag our system as being anything other than personal home use.

    Nonetheless, I would appreciatte any assitance towards having this resloved. It seems as if the device I'm unable to connect to now has been blacklisted or disabled by teamviewer. So it seems.

    There are many other free option alternatives out there however I have used this application for some time now and enjoyed the ease of use it has offered in terms of being able to remotly connect to our personal home computers and or transfer random files as necessary.

    Hope to hear back from some support personal that can further assist me with this stituation. Thanks again in advance.

    Richard

  • Josette
    Josette Posts: 18 ✭✭
    Options

    After being censored for offering suggestions for other software out there, I managed to get a MOD in PM. I passed on how I, like all of us, have:

    1. Suddenly been told that I am using TM commecialy.

    2. Told that I have been flagged for hours, so I must be using TM commercially.

    3. Filled out their form to reset.

    4. Included all my I.D.s.

    5. Received a confirmation email that I am using TV for personal use and that my I.D. have been reset.

    6. Three seconds later go to TV and received the same Commercial Use messge.

    After five days of back and forth, and reitterating that I already told her that I did what she suggested, I received this below. We are all on our own. TV is a thing of the past and we all need to use other software. They don't want or care about us.

    "Hi Josette,

    I understand your frustration and I am sorry for any inconvenience.

    The forms are the only route we can offer you as we do not have any access to unblock you. It can only be done by a specific team who only responds to those forms.
    There is no alternate contact method for this issue.

    However, please note that you need to make sure you submit all relevant ID's as if you only submit one and the other device is detected, even if one is unblocked, connections to another blocked device is not possible.

    You need to make sure you submit all ID's: https://www.teamviewer.com/en/reset-management/
    This is the best advice we can provide.

    I am sorry but I cannot discuss such a case in a private message. If you have any other questions, please feel free to post in the community so you can get ideas from users.

    Best regards,
    Yuri

     

     

  • esuarezcabrera
    Options

    I  use my free account to watch my son in remote learning since he has learned how to not focus on virtual learning due to distraction on the PC.  I got a pop up that said I am using the account commercially and it auto enrolled me to a commercial account.  The account is stuck saying thank you for upgrading.  I am not using my free account commercially.  How can I regain access to my free account and reverse the payment

  • George1957
    George1957 Posts: 4 ✭✭
    Options

    Yes, indeed. It's an unashamed attempt to move us all to paid licenses, otherwise they'd have taken notice of the hundreds of clearly personal users who have posted about this issue :-(

  • Josette
    Josette Posts: 18 ✭✭
    Options

    Hooray! Your lovely reply has made mine.

  • waco_john
    waco_john Posts: 11 ✭✭
    Options

    Same here.  Filled out the declaration and signed it and emailed it back.  Not a word since.

  • jonathanhiron
    jonathanhiron Posts: 2 ✭✭
    Options

    I am having the same issue and the https://www.teamviewer.com/en/reset-management/ won't allow me to generate the PDF to complete the form. I have tried IE11, Edge, FireFox and Chrome to no avail.   

    Not sure what to do to complete the reset form and appreciate any guidance.  I would like to submit my case for an account reset but so far am unable to.

    All support greatly appreciated.

  • jonathanhiron
    jonathanhiron Posts: 2 ✭✭
    Options

    I forgot to mention that on the reset form it doesn't allow me to enter my full teamviewer ID.  My ID is 13 characters and it only allows me to enter 12.  I have tried logging in with just the 12 characters and that fails.  I can only log in with my 13 character ID but the reset form https://www.teamviewer.com/en/reset-management/ only allows 12.

    As well, I may have forgotten to mention the other problem with the form is that it won't generate a PDF.  As indicated, have tried various browsers to no avail.  

    So I have 2 issues with the reset form.  

    1) not being able to enter my 13 character teamviewer ID

    2) not being able to generate the PDF so that I may upload it in the next step

    Appreciate all advice on how to successfully submit my reset form.

  • Josette
    Josette Posts: 18 ✭✭
    Options

    Unfortunately, even when you send them the PDF and they email back that your IDs have been reset, it still doesn't work. They are really resetting anything. I've done it 8 times and it makes no difference. They also are not responding on the boards or answering the phone.

  • cathythorn
    cathythorn Posts: 1
    Options

    I have a free version and I suddenly changed from free to commercial use.  I help family remotely in their homes - no charge, so I am not commercial.  I have not installed the Win 10 20H October update.  Rebootint both systems did not resolve the problem.

  • padamjs
    padamjs Posts: 1
    Options

    I am using teamviewer from Starbucks internet and connecting to my home computer. I am only using it for personal use but it keeps terminating my session and doesn't let me log in. I am not using it for commercial only for my personal use. Please help on how I can fix this.

  • waco_john
    waco_john Posts: 11 ✭✭
    Options

    I did and I love it.  I'm ust trying to get TV to 'do the right thing'.  They have gone completely bonkers.

  • Ringrosa
    Ringrosa Posts: 1
    Options

    TeamViewer works great so I can check my home pc but all of a sudden  it some how thinks I'm using it commercially and kills connection after 5 minutes kinda annoying is there a fix for this?

  • jray7070
    jray7070 Posts: 1
    Options

    I'm unable to fill out a second reset request form after having the first one approved. It displays this message:

    "Your request has already been submitted and is pending further review. Thank you for your patience as we process your request."

    I'm using the instructions I received in my first request's approval, which say we can do this if another personal computer is incorrectly detected as commercial:

    "repeat the process and fill out an additional form for this/these TeamViewer ID(s)"

  • Josette
    Josette Posts: 18 ✭✭
    Options

    Unfortunately, it doesn't matter how many times you send in the reset form. It still doesn't work. I did it 6 times to no avail. There are thousands of us who aren't getting any support with this problem. It looks like they have discontinued the Free Version and haven't bothered to tell us.

  • Josette
    Josette Posts: 18 ✭✭
    Options

    Support will not respond. They have done this to every one of us on the Free Version. It looks like they discontinued the Free Version and didn't bother to take a moment to inform everyone. Instead they have us on a hamster wheel continuously submitting reset forms that never do anything.   

  • waco_john
    waco_john Posts: 11 ✭✭
    Options

    @Josette wrote:

    Support will not respond. They have done this to every used of the Free Version. It looks like they discontinued the Free Version and didn't bother to take a moment to inform everyone. Instead they have us on a hamster wheel continuously submitting reset forms that never do anything.   


    yep.  time to google Teamviewer Review and let everyon know

  • Josette
    Josette Posts: 18 ✭✭
    Options

    YES and on Twitter @TeamViewer and @TeamViewer_help.

  • Volkstoy
    Volkstoy Posts: 1
    Options

    I updated one of my computers to the Win 10 20H2 version two days ago, and not when I tried to connect to that computer I'm given a pop-up of suspected commercial use and am limited to only a 5 min connection with no re-connect possible. ??? Nothing else has changed. I previously had a Business account, and I'm wondering if my free account via another email is being linked to my former account that was closed this Summer (at least, as far as I know! That account was paid for by a non-profit that I supported for about three years until they got a grant to hire an internal, local IT person.)

  • Richj44
    Richj44 Posts: 3 ✭✭
    Options

    I'm not going to get into it again here.  There is a thread with 5400+ posts already about this topic. I'm just posting this to say it's pretty lousy that 5400+ posts later this is STILL HAPPENING.  

    I'm done with teamviewer.  You guys can continue to ignore the forms I sent in 2 weeks ago if you like, I've deleted the software and moved on.  I would like to point out that this is one of the worst "customer service" experiences I've had with a software company though, and will make sure everyone I talk to knows it.

  • MarkThomas
    MarkThomas Posts: 2 ✭✭
    Options

    The form at https://www.teamviewer.com/en/reset-management/
    IS NOT WORKING.. I have tried Firefox, Chrome and IE, and none of them will "Generate the PDF you have to Generate, in order to upload your request to have your "Commercial Use" evaluated..

    I am not a Commercial user.. I only access PC's on my own local Private At Home Network...
    But, I can not submit the form, because, the "Generate PDF" to upload is not working...
    I would like to Prove I am not a commercial user and continue to use the "Personal Version" , and continue to recommend Team Viewer to anyone I meet who uses programs like this...


  • JoshP
    JoshP Posts: 895 Community Manager 🌍
    Options

    Hello @MarkThomas 

    Thanks for your post.

    I was unable to replicate any issue with the Generate PDF button - once all requested info was entered, the button responded and proceeded to the next page, to download and re-upload the PDF. This was done in Firefox, as well as Chrome.

    Please verify the boxes in the form, make sure there is no error shown, and try again. If there is an issue with the data entered, the error should appear right below the text box containing the error.

    Josh P.

    Senior Community Moderator

    ---

  • JNSpradlin
    JNSpradlin Posts: 1
    Options

    I am having this issue today as well. I also had this issue exactly a year ago. What is going on?

  • MarkThomas
    MarkThomas Posts: 2 ✭✭
    Options

    I'm not sure why, but, after you checked it, I was able to complete the task...  It logged me out for some reason between generating the PDF and downloading it the first time, but, when I logged back in, it brought me to the download screen, I was on before and I was able to download and upload it..  If it was anything on my part, the 2000 character limit would have been the issue..  When I clicked the submit button, nothing happened,, but, when I tried it the last time, there was a red box around the comment and the message about the 2000 characters did pop up..  I did a screen recording of it, but, it worked without incident, other than, it did not log me in using the "Previously entered ID and password" that I had previously used and Google saved, At that time, the Captcha would not re-appear on screen, so, I closed and started again and was able to get it to work..  Thank you for checking on it, or resetting it.. Either way, it worked this time..  Thank you..  I really like the software, and I only use it to access my old computers on my One Private/Network,, and no Outside computers are accessed,, or,, very rarely have.. I can only remember twice accessing someone elses computer to help them.. Once per my 82 year old Mothers request because she emailed some photos to a friend and then friend could not figure out how to look at them, and once or twice to help my girlfriend set up a better file system, that I use to save files and easily back them up..  All other Teamviewer use is from my Desktop computher that I use constantly to access my other computers that I have some old programs/files and external drives, so, I have more than one backup, in case either computer or external HDD fails.. Since I have been doing this, I have not lost a single file in any failures, that I had backed up for safe keeping, and I have a lot of files/photos/vidoes, etc,, that I save across my old computers...  Thank you... 

  • neil154154
    neil154154 Posts: 4 ✭✭
    Options

    I just tried to logon to a friends PC and I got a message on my side saying it looks like I am using it for commercial use.  I hardly use Teamviewer and in the last year or so I believe I only have logged onto 3 PCs (a friend, my daughetr and my wife).  All use is for totally non commercial use.

     

    Can you help me resolve this issue so I can continue using Teamviewer?

  • TheRocker
    TheRocker Posts: 1
    Options

    Same here.... Popup said it would limit to 5 minutes. I tried and it stopped within 5 seconds, not minutes. I help my mom and a few friends, when something happens. I don't charge, I'm disabled and only help a few friends and my mom who is almost 80, HOpefully this isn't a change. I couldn't afford to purchase.
    Maybe they changed the detection programming ? Raising false flags ? I have been on maybe 4 to 6 times in the last year is all. Can't be considered commercial use I wouldn't think.

  • Simonmac
    Simonmac Posts: 1
    Options

    Commercial use detected, appealed and got accepted, now no connection to my XP PC, says route not found, if I try to reverse connect it says my laptop doesn't accept connections but there are no settings page to call up, are TeamViewer stopping my access or is there a solution, I use it to check one PC that runs home security and nothing else so cannot justify the monthly fee. 

  • ACEkin
    ACEkin Posts: 6 ✭✭
    Options

    I have been using TeamViewer for years to help family and friends and it worked very well for all of us. However, recently I was blocked because the software detected "commercial use" by some standard. Most of the time, I connect to a nearby friend to help him with his Photoshop or Lightroom questions. I did some searching and found a form to fill out and then submitted the PDF file. The next day, I got a message back from TeamViewer that my account was unblocked.

    For some reason, my copy did not recognize that and blocked me out again. I filled out the form once more and submitted the new PDF file once more. This morning, I got the good news that my account was unblocked. Alas! I still cannot even start the application without getting a warning. This time "high level of activity dete3cted" even though I have not been able to use it even once in the last ten days or so.

    It will be great to know if TeamViewer will eventually help us all get back to normal especially in the days of high levels of isolation. I could walk into my friend's house and help him but these days that is not possible, especially for us in the "Geezer Class!"

    Please help us to continue helping each other. There is no commercial use, and our use is mostly a few sessions every month lasting about 5-10 minutes or so. If this will not be possible, also let us know so that we may search for other solutions.

    Thank you,

    ACEkin

  • Someguy
    Someguy Posts: 1
    Options

    I just had this problem for the first time, accessing my home computer to find a photo for my ex mother-in-law.  Clearly personal use, and it's the first time I've used Teamviewer in several weeks.  It was supposed to allow me to log in for only 15 minutes, but it wouldn't connect and told me my time had been exceeded.  I filled out the personal use form just a few moments ago.

    I understand Teamviewer's need to police its usage and I have always appreciated that Teamviewer is available for free for personal use because it has always been by far the best remote connection software I've experienced.  It'd be unfortunate if it were no longer available!