Highlighted
Posted by DomLan
Heptagon

Delete account from Web Management Console (user in TV company profile)

Hi, 

as company administrator a can Disable or Delete an account. 

Is it correct to delete only an account that was not previously disabled? Usually we first disable, then delete. 

Now we need to reactivate the account to complete a deletion.

20-04-2017 14-12-34.png

Regards.

Domenico Langone
MCSD: App Builder
1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions
Posted by Former Staff Katharina
Former Staff
Solution

Re: Delete account from Web Management Console (user in TV company profile)

Hi DomLan, 

Thank you for your post!

The two options "remove user" and "disable user" cater to different needs. That is why they cannot really be combined. 

"Remove user" will not delete the entire account, but remove it from your company profile. The account would then continue to exist as a free account. You would use this option to remove someone who is supposed to continue using his TeamViewer account outside of your company profile. Once an account has been removed from the company profile, it is also possible to delete it completely via the account settings in the Management Console ("Edit profile" > "Delete" in the lower left-hand corner of the window).

"Disable user" will "freeze" the account. It will still be present in your company profile, but the user will no longer be able to sign in and use the licence or manage the groups that he has added to his contacts list. This is often used when an employee leaves the company. That way, you can be sure that he will no longer be able to use the account or make any changes to it. This is especially important when it comes to shared groups: if the user continues to have access to the account, he could withdraw the shares at any time and you could end up not having access to those machines anymore. By disabling the account, you can ensure that the shares will remain unaffected.

I hope this explains why it is not possible to remove a disabled account from your company profile: It would not make sense for the account to continue existing as a free account if it is disabled -- the account would be unusable.

Since "remove user" and "disable user" each have a very distinct outcome, it is best to choose only one of those two options according to what exactly you wish to do with the account in question.

I hope this information helps. If you have any further questions or comments, please do not hesitate to let us know.

All the best,

Katharina

Did my reply answer your question? Accept it as a solution to help others, Thanks!
2 Replies
Posted by Former Staff Katharina
Former Staff
Solution

Re: Delete account from Web Management Console (user in TV company profile)

Hi DomLan, 

Thank you for your post!

The two options "remove user" and "disable user" cater to different needs. That is why they cannot really be combined. 

"Remove user" will not delete the entire account, but remove it from your company profile. The account would then continue to exist as a free account. You would use this option to remove someone who is supposed to continue using his TeamViewer account outside of your company profile. Once an account has been removed from the company profile, it is also possible to delete it completely via the account settings in the Management Console ("Edit profile" > "Delete" in the lower left-hand corner of the window).

"Disable user" will "freeze" the account. It will still be present in your company profile, but the user will no longer be able to sign in and use the licence or manage the groups that he has added to his contacts list. This is often used when an employee leaves the company. That way, you can be sure that he will no longer be able to use the account or make any changes to it. This is especially important when it comes to shared groups: if the user continues to have access to the account, he could withdraw the shares at any time and you could end up not having access to those machines anymore. By disabling the account, you can ensure that the shares will remain unaffected.

I hope this explains why it is not possible to remove a disabled account from your company profile: It would not make sense for the account to continue existing as a free account if it is disabled -- the account would be unusable.

Since "remove user" and "disable user" each have a very distinct outcome, it is best to choose only one of those two options according to what exactly you wish to do with the account in question.

I hope this information helps. If you have any further questions or comments, please do not hesitate to let us know.

All the best,

Katharina

Did my reply answer your question? Accept it as a solution to help others, Thanks!
Posted by DomLan
Heptagon

Re: Delete account from Web Management Console (user in TV company profile)

Thanks a lot Kathrina.

Best, Domlan

Domenico Langone
MCSD: App Builder