connecting to my computer remotely

Having only used Teamviewer to help my elderly parents with simple computer related management issues, I am new to Teamviewer's other functions, please help with the following basic questions

- how do I connect to any (my own for example) computer remotely using my ipad?  NB: Teamviewer (free version) is installed on both my laptop and iPad

- A few years ago I installed Teamviewer on my elderly parents' (89 and 90 years in age) computer.  Using Teamviewer I have been regularly able to connect to their computer after they give me,  by telephone, the password.  It is now becoming increasingly harder for them to negotiate simple computer-related tasks.  How can I connect to their computer directly? 

Tagged:

Comments

• You need to tick 'Run along with Windows' on their computer, memorize (better write down) their ID, and create a permanent password in your settings to access their computer without using a temporary password

• Is that capability available with the free version of Team Viewer?

Thanks

• TotalPC
    TotalPC Posts: 87 ⭐Star⭐

Hello @ecorsini,

Welcome to the TeamViewer Community!

As @grafwell stated, sounds like you'll want to set TeamViewer to start up with the computer and set a good permanent password on your parents' system so you can always easily remote in. Here's where you go: Extras, Options, then...

extras-options-general-start teamviewer with windows.jpg

The first time you check that box it's going to ask you what password you want to set for permanent access. Make it a good one.