.msi Confusion

Options

I'm new to TeamViewer Tensor. We are attempting to deploy the client to all of our Intune Enrolled devices (Windows). This is typically done by uploading the 64-bit .msi for other apps. I used the "Design & Deploy" to create a "Custom HOST" module and added our logo, text colors, etc. However, when I download it it's an .exe. The other option I have is to select the link for "Download MSI (32-bit)".

Is there a way to get the 64-bit .msi version for the custom HOST module? OR do we have to use the ".msi 64-bit Full Client for Windows" instead? If I download that one, it doesn't have any of the customizations. What are the limitations of the "Host" modules vs the "Full Client" versions? Thanks for any thoughts.

Best Answer

• .Carol.fg.
    .Carol.fg. Posts: 1,083 Moderator
    Answer ✓
    Options

Hi @ctalton_14 ,

It's absolutely possible to have unattended access using the Host module.😄 The 32-bit (.msi) Host is ideal for it.

• If the partner side will just receive unattended remote sessions, you're probably better off using Host.
    • If the partner side also needs to use TeamViewer to remotely connect other devices, then you will need to use the TeamViewer Full Client.

Customization is quite limited for the Full Client, so if you need your logo to display, TeamViewer Host would be a better option.

Policies can be applied for both Host and Full Client.

Let me know if you need any further clarification. 😉

Best, Carol

Portuguese Community Moderator

Answers

• .Carol.fg.
    Options

Hi @ctalton_14 ,

Welcome, and thanks for reaching out to our Community!

At the moment, msi deployment is only possible with 32-bit.

Therefore, the recommendation is to use the custom Host 32-bit.

Let us know how it goes, and if we can help you any further. 🙋‍♀️

📌Also, please note that if you have a license, you can contact our support team directly if you prefer.

Best, Carol

• ctalton_14
    ctalton_14 Posts: 12 ✭✭
    Options