No connection to server on TeamViewer 12

Options
aelfinn
aelfinn Posts: 1

I’m using TeamViewer 12 (v71510) on Zorin OS 12 Core. TeamViewer stopped being able to connect all of a sudden. It used to work without a problem, now it just says, “Not ready. Please check your connection”. Any pointers would be much appreciated.

Comments

  • ChristianCay
    ChristianCay Posts: 182 [Former Staff]
    Options

    Dear Aelfinn,

    Thank you for your post.

    Did you make any firewall settings change on your system?

    Please disable temporarily your firewall rules restart TeamViewer and check if it's possible to connect.

     

    sudo iptables -F

    If the issue persists try to reach the following URL from your web browser master1.teamviewer.com

     

    Let us know the result of those tests.

    Best regards,

    Christian Cay

    Did my reply answer your question? Accept it as a solution to help others, Thanks.
  • ManfredS2223
    ManfredS2223 Posts: 3 ✭✭
    Options

    After upgrade to Teamviewer 12 no connection to server.at WIN10 PC.
    Uninstallation and Reinstallion did not help.
    Downgrade to Teamviewer 11 an all is ok again!

  • ChristianCay
    ChristianCay Posts: 182 [Former Staff]
    Options

    Hi ManfredS2223,

    Thank you for your post, If you still prefer to continue using version 12, please use this workaround to re-install TeamViewer. After this procedure, TeamViewer should work.

     

    • Open the Terminal
    • Please run the following commands
      cd /
      sudo rm -rf /home/*/.local/share/teamviewer* /home/*/.config/teamviewer /opt/teamviewer
    • Now all associated files and folders will be removed and its time to download and install TeamViewer from https://www.teamviewer.com/en/download/linux.aspx

    Let us know if that solution works for you.

    Best regards,

    Christian

    Did my reply answer your question? Accept it as a solution to help others, Thanks.
  • ManfredS2223
    ManfredS2223 Posts: 3 ✭✭
    Options

    Christian,

    thanks for your answer. I can check it earliest at the weekend.
    Will report the result then.

    Best regards
    ManfredS2223

     

     

  • bhoth
    bhoth Posts: 8 ✭✭
    Options

    I tried this and I still get the same error.

  • ChristianCay
    ChristianCay Posts: 182 [Former Staff]
    Options

    Hi bhoth,

    Thank you for your post.

    They are several situations that might get this error message.

    • Block ports or websites (TeamViewer needs outgoing access to *.teamviewer.com and ports 80 443 and 5938)
    • Not being able to reach our servers (Test if you can browse master1.teamviewer.com you should receive a message saying "This site is running TeamViewer")
    • Enabling Wayland (Common on Fedora 25)
    • Switching from CUI or GUIStarting TeamViewer from a virtual terminal (restart the Teamviewer service)
    • Starting TeamViewer from a virtual terminal (restart TeamViewer service or reboot device)

    Use the following command to restart TeamViewer service

     

    sudo teamviewer daemon restart

    Let us know if these suggestions work for you.

     

    Best Regards,

    Christian

    Did my reply answer your question? Accept it as a solution to help others, Thanks.
  • bhoth
    bhoth Posts: 8 ✭✭
    Options

    Hi Christian, I can ping all the sites you mention, no outgoing ports are blocked. I can restart the daemon and every single time it connects properly.

    It's almost like the Teamviewer 12 service is trying to connect before the network stack is up fully and connected during bootup.

    I am running Linux Mint 18.1 by the way. But it did the same thing on Linix Mint 18 as well.

    I can revert back to Teamviewer 11 and everything works fine.

  • ChristianCay
    ChristianCay Posts: 182 [Former Staff]
    Options

    Hi bhoth,

    Thanks for your post!

    In order to provide the best solution to your question we do need more information.

    We ask that you submit a ticket to our support team to assist further.

    You can submit a ticket here>https://www.teamviewer.com/en/support/contact/submit-a-ticket/.

     

    Thanks in advance,

    Christian

    Did my reply answer your question? Accept it as a solution to help others, Thanks.
  • bhoth
    bhoth Posts: 8 ✭✭
    Options

    Hi Christian, when filling out the info for the ticket, it's asking for a license number. I am just using the free personal use. I do not have a license number.

  • ManfredS2223
    ManfredS2223 Posts: 3 ✭✭
    Options

    Hi Christian,

    I checked the reinstallation of teamviewer 12 as you recommended, but still no connection to server.
    I can reach master1.teamviewer.com, and no ports are blocked.

    Regards
    Manfred

  • LinuxRob
    LinuxRob Posts: 4 ✭✭
    Options


    I have a sorta a bad ugly patch/hack that seems to be stable.. 

    From reading the other posts it looks like something was/is wrong with DNS lookups.  

    So my "fix" that is ugly is not to do dns lookups. 

    sudo vi /etc/hosts (or windows host file C:\Windows\System32\drivers\etc\hosts )

    and add

    # Teamviewer
    178.77.120.6 master1.teamviewer.com
    178.77.120.104 master2.teamviewer.com
    178.77.120.100 master3.teamviewer.com
    178.77.120.102 master4.teamviewer.com
    178.77.120.6 master5.teamviewer.com
    178.77.120.100 master6.teamviewer.com
    178.77.120.102 master7.teamviewer.com
    178.77.120.104 master8.teamviewer.com
    178.77.120.106 master9.teamviewer.com
    178.77.120.104 master10.teamviewer.com
    178.77.120.100 master11.teamviewer.com
    178.77.120.6 master12.teamviewer.com
    178.77.120.102 master13.teamviewer.com
    178.77.120.106 master14.teamviewer.com
    178.77.120.106 master15.teamviewer.com
    178.77.120.106 master16.teamviewer.com

    to it.  You may verify all the IPs manually by doing ping master1.teamviewer.com and  verify the IPs. I stopped at 16 it looked out of country (of usa) IPs. So there may be more than 16.

    After adding them I was unable to reproduce the problem.  Ugly because if they change dns entries this will all break.  So now you have to maintain a sudo dns table.  

    Ugly because it could be a security issue as you are not using DNS to verify that is actually teamviewer you are talking to.  

    But end of the day it seems to fix the issue. + it looks like there is many re-used duplicate IPs.

    Robert

     

     

  • Smurfa
    Smurfa Posts: 2 ✭✭
    Options

    The output from the logs:

    2017/01/18 16:12:37.014 72 123145321435136 S0 Activating Router carrier
    2017/01/18 16:12:37.060 72 123145321435136 S0 CKeepAliveClientClient::HandlePing(): success
    2017/01/18 16:12:37.060 72 123145321435136 S0 Activating Router carrier
    2017/01/18 16:12:37.060 72 123145321435136 S0 CProcessCommandHandlerMasterConnect[18]::CreateMasterConnect(): master5.teamviewer.com:5938, Connection 18, proxy=''
    2017/01/18 16:12:37.085 72 123145321435136 S0 CProcessCommandHandlerMasterConnect[18]::HandleMasterConnect(): Sending MasterCommand addonchannels=0&client=TV&f=Login&gw=1&gwlevel=431&hideonlinestatus=1&httpout=1&ic=-1550931892&id=515194532&iguid={2835e944-e7db-4007-83a2-d5877b53e13c}&language=en&licensetype=0&mid=0x10ddb1ba7996_C02KC9MCDNCR_MacVersion&midf=128&midhistory=0x10ddb1ba7996_C02KC9MCDNCR_MacVersion|o10ddb1ba7996c02kc9mcdncr<~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~0dd0c5b4e712d7cef7750d93b4e6b006&midv=0&noofactivekeepalive=0&os=OSX10.12i&port443out=0&rhash={1609d7a6-bf91-bc65-c8ba-2505db43cf58}&runtime=194&smidv=1&sro=0&supportedfeatures=671054813&tcpout=1&usednsnames=1&v=12.0.72647
    2017/01/18 16:12:37.111 72 123145321435136 S0 CProcessCommandHandlerMasterConnect[18]::ReceivedMasterResponse(): Received MasterCommand BLOCKED
    2017/01/18 16:12:37.111 72 123145321435136 S0 !!!CKeepAliveClient::HandleLoginUserAnswer(): ID is blocked
    2017/01/18 16:12:37.112 72 123145321435136 S0 ! CTcpConnectionBase[18]::ClearSendQueueWithError(): SendQueue is not empty. Throwing away 1 commands
    2017/01/18 16:13:01.185 72 123145321435136 S0 Activating Router carrier
    2017/01/18 16:13:01.227 72 123145321435136 S0 CKeepAliveClientClient::HandlePing(): success
    2017/01/18 16:13:01.227 72 123145321435136 S0 Activating Router carrier
    2017/01/18 16:13:01.227 72 123145321435136 S0 CProcessCommandHandlerMasterConnect[20]::CreateMasterConnect(): master5.teamviewer.com:5938, Connection 20, proxy=''
    2017/01/18 16:13:01.255 72 123145321435136 S0 CProcessCommandHandlerMasterConnect[20]::HandleMasterConnect(): Sending MasterCommand addonchannels=0&client=TV&f=Login&gw=1&gwlevel=431&hideonlinestatus=1&httpout=1&ic=-1550931892&id=515194532&iguid={2835e944-e7db-4007-83a2-d5877b53e13c}&language=en&licensetype=0&mid=0x10ddb1ba7996_C02KC9MCDNCR_MacVersion&midf=128&midhistory=0x10ddb1ba7996_C02KC9MCDNCR_MacVersion|o10ddb1ba7996c02kc9mcdncr<~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~0dd0c5b4e712d7cef7750d93b4e6b006&midv=0&noofactivekeepalive=0&os=OSX10.12i&port443out=0&rhash={1609d7a6-bf91-bc65-c8ba-2505db43cf58}&runtime=218&smidv=1&sro=0&supportedfeatures=671054813&tcpout=1&usednsnames=1&v=12.0.72647
    2017/01/18 16:13:01.280 72 123145321435136 S0 CProcessCommandHandlerMasterConnect[20]::ReceivedMasterResponse(): Received MasterCommand BLOCKED
    2017/01/18 16:13:01.281 72 123145321435136 S0 !!!CKeepAliveClient::HandleLoginUserAnswer(): ID is blocked
    2017/01/18 16:13:25.310 72 123145321435136 S0 Activating Router carrier
    2017/01/18 16:13:25.356 72 123145321435136 S0 CKeepAliveClientClient::HandlePing(): success
    2017/01/18 16:13:25.356 72 123145321435136 S0 Activating Router carrier

     

    We are experiencing the connectivity issue on multiple Mac OS (Sierra)

    Evertyhing worked till few days ago. Please advise.

  • lupetalo
    lupetalo Posts: 3 ✭✭
    Options

    I am having the same no connection problem, but none of this worked. I opened up a ticket...

    @Smurfa

    Where are those logs?

     

  • Smurfa
    Smurfa Posts: 2 ✭✭
    Options

    @lupetaloOn Mac there is a menu item called application logs. From there you get to them (/Users/xxxxx/Library/Logs/TeamViewer)

    Changing the hosts file helped me 'resolve' the issue.

  • lupetalo
    lupetalo Posts: 3 ✭✭
    Options

    Thanks, I found them, so here it is:

     

    2017/01/23 09:24:44.279 356653 140112320059168 gX1   Logger started.
    2017/01/23 09:24:44.280 356653 140112320059168 gX1 Found 1 Minidump files ...
    2017/01/23 09:24:44.280 356653 140112320059168 gX1 Found 1 core dump files ...
    2017/01/23 09:24:44.281 356653 140112320059168 gX1 Shutting down System DBus
    2017/01/23 09:24:44.281 356653 140112320059168 gX1 Shutting down System DBus
    2017/01/23 09:24:44.281 356653 140112320059168 gX1 SysSessionInfoManager: Session Information provided by VT [priority: 2]
    2017/01/23 09:24:44.282 356653 140112320059168 gX1 XSocket observer: watching /tmp/.X11-unix
    2017/01/23 09:24:44.282 356653 140112320059168 gX1 XSocket observer: adding XSession: 1
    2017/01/23 09:24:44.334 356653 140112320059168 gX1 XSession[1]: Retrieved XAuth from commandline
    2017/01/23 09:24:44.335 356653 140112320059168 gX1 Shutting down System DBus
    2017/01/23 09:24:44.336 356653 140112320059168 gX1! FrameBuffer: Cannot access /dev/fb0, frame buffer support unavailable
    2017/01/23 09:24:44.336 356653 140112320059168 gX1 XSession[1]: Retrieved XAuth from commandline
    2017/01/23 09:24:44.336 356653 140112320059168 gX1! VTSessionInfoProvider: Failed setting TTY for session 1 on display ':1'
    2017/01/23 09:24:44.336 356653 140112320059168 gX1 SysSessionInfoManager: assigned session 1 to info provider 'None'
    2017/01/23 09:24:44.338 356653 140112320059168 gX1 Initialised XFixes extension (base=86 error=138)
    2017/01/23 09:24:44.338 356653 140112320059168 gX1 TVGuiSlave.64: Running
    2017/01/23 09:24:44.287 356655 3040552672 QX1 Logger started.
    2017/01/23 09:24:44.288 356655 3040552672 QX1 Found 1 Minidump files ...
    2017/01/23 09:24:44.288 356655 3040552672 QX1 Found 1 core dump files ...
    2017/01/23 09:24:44.289 356655 3040552672 QX1 Shutting down System DBus
    2017/01/23 09:24:44.289 356655 3040552672 QX1 Shutting down System DBus
    2017/01/23 09:24:44.289 356655 3040552672 QX1 SysSessionInfoManager: Session Information provided by VT [priority: 2]
    2017/01/23 09:24:44.290 356655 3040552672 QX1 XSocket observer: watching /tmp/.X11-unix
    2017/01/23 09:24:44.290 356655 3040552672 QX1 XSocket observer: adding XSession: 1
    2017/01/23 09:24:44.347 356655 3040552672 QX1 XSession[1]: Retrieved XAuth from commandline
    2017/01/23 09:24:44.348 356655 3040552672 QX1 Shutting down System DBus
    2017/01/23 09:24:44.349 356655 3040552672 QX1! FrameBuffer: Cannot access /dev/fb0, frame buffer support unavailable
    2017/01/23 09:24:44.349 356655 3040552672 QX1 XSession[1]: Retrieved XAuth from commandline
    2017/01/23 09:24:44.350 356655 3040552672 QX1! VTSessionInfoProvider: Failed setting TTY for session 1 on display ':1'
    2017/01/23 09:24:44.350 356655 3040552672 QX1 SysSessionInfoManager: assigned session 1 to info provider 'None'
    2017/01/23 09:24:44.351 356655 3040552672 QX1 TVGuiDelegate: Running
    2017/01/23 09:24:44.453 356653 140112320059168 gX1 TVGuiSlave.64: Terminated
    2017/01/23 09:24:44.453 356655 3040552672 QX1 TVGuiDelegate: Terminated

    Is anyone has an idea what is the reason for TW 12 not being able to connect?

     

  • LinuxRob
    LinuxRob Posts: 4 ✭✭
    Options

    See my post about hosts file..  It is a tempory fix.  It more than likey is a bug that the application can not resolve DNS entries via the network but can via host file. 

  • lupetalo
    lupetalo Posts: 3 ✭✭
    Options

    I tried that...

  • ChristianCay
    ChristianCay Posts: 182 [Former Staff]
    Options

    Dear Digon,

    Thank you for getting back to us.

    We got some news from our developers that this is, unfortunately, a known problem in the current version. Our developers are working on this matter.

    Our developers are working on this matter. It should be fixed in the next TeamViewer 12 release.

    We apologize for any inconvenience caused.

    Best regards,

    Christian

     

    Did my reply answer your question? Accept it as a solution to help others, Thanks.
  • BradMorrisAu
    BradMorrisAu Posts: 1
    Options

    This has started to happen to me today.  So far on Windows 7 computers.  I have done the DNS Host file hack but still no luck!!!  Not happy..

  • ack0329
    ack0329 Posts: 40 ✭✭
    Options

    I had some UGLY networking issues with a new  Ubuntu 17.04 install (been using Ubuntu variations for +10 years).  It turned out to be something I have never heard of before, and was from the "new DNS host resolver in "systemd""?? 

    The below solution fixed the issue, and other related network slowness, and random pauses. 

    For other reasons I switched back to 16.04.3 LTR and all was fine in this regard from the get go.

    Here is the website with a better and fuller explanation and Solutiuon! 

    Good Luck

    https://www.hecticgeek.com/2017/04/ubuntu-17-04-systemd-dns-issues/

      • I realized that this issue was originating from a service called ‘systemd-resolved’. This is a DNS caching and validating service that comes pre-installed with Ubuntu 17.04.
                • service NetworkManager status
      • Step 3: Now let’s disable the troublesome ‘systemd-resolved’
          • Change to
              • dns=unbound
                • sudo systemctl enable unbound-resolvconf
                • service NetworkManager status
            • reboot
  • ChristianCay
    ChristianCay Posts: 182 [Former Staff]
    Options

    Dear lupetalo,

    Thank you for your post.

    There's a new version that you may check to confirm if your issue is solved.

    If you're using full version please download the version v12.0.85001 from our website.

    https://www.teamviewer.com/en/download/linux/

    If you're using host version you may use the following command to update the application

    sudo apt-get install --only-upgrade teamviewer-host

    Hope this solution works for you.

    If you have any other questions please don’t hesitate to contact us.

     

    Best regards,

    Christian

    Did my reply answer your question? Accept it as a solution to help others, Thanks.
  • ack0329
    ack0329 Posts: 40 ✭✭
    Options

    I did not think that 

     

    sudo apt-get install --only-upgrade teamviewer-host

    was applicable for my system - but I  tried it just the same, and before I give you the error, this does work.

     

     

    sudo teamviewer daemon restart

    Now for the error, Judt FYI,

     

     

    $ sudo apt-get install --only-upgrade teamviewer-host
    [sudo] password for ack:
    Reading package lists... Done
    Building dependency tree
    Reading state information... Done
    Package teamviewer-host:i386 is not available, but is referred to by another package.
    This may mean that the package is missing, has been obsoleted, or
    is only available from another source

    E: Package 'teamviewer-host:i386' has no installation candidate