Commercial use - Connection time out

Comments

• Fathi
    Fathi Posts: 7

Hello

i have been useing teamviewer for many years Privat, and since last week i get msg that i use it for business but iam not i only use it for privat(my home pc, my laptop, my wifes laptop, my brothers pc and fathers pc)!!!!! and now iam limited 1 min connectionand 10min coldown..help me pls

• XenoDrake
    XenoDrake Posts: 5
    @owenegan wrote:

Yeah, I know Gmail isn't Teamviewer, and I'm not all grumpypants because my free software went away.  Those weren't really my points.

Teamviewer's sudden kicking off thousands of (claimed) non-commercial users was either a business decision, or it wasn't.

• If it wasn't a business decision, it suggests gross incompetence in their detection algorithm.
    • If it was a business decision, I feel it was a very poor one.  Because...

They could have sent suspected naughty people a notice that their access would be cut in X days if they couldn't provide evidence of private use. They chose not to do that, but just cut people off.

This move, if intentional, presumably was designed to convert free users to paid ones.  Maybe it's a brilliant plan and is working like a charm.  But from the point of view of this particular user, the way they pulled the rug out from under folks makes it much less likely any future remote-control-software money of mine will go their way.

In my case, I had just driven home to Canada after installing a computer for a friend in Massachusetts. He's a 65-year-old farmer who kind of thinks the internet = AOL. So, remote access to his computer is direly needed if I am to help him take his first steps with his shiny new Gmail account.  So,  the sudden Teamviewer banishment isn't the end of the world, but it's gonna be painful talking him through setting up **Third Party Product**