teamviewer.com link icon
or
Ask The Community

Commercial use - Connection time out

1168169171173174349

Comments

  • I think I clicked the wrong button when I've installed TV becouse I don't use it for work. I use it to help my mother to work from home. Any method to get back the trial version?

    I know you usually don't answer this type of request. There are huge number of similar questions in the community, all without any response... if it's a business policy say that and try to underline the importance of chosing right setting during the installation. I never seen a program that marks users in such a way, from certian point of view it doesn't make any sense...

    Hope you will be more comprensive in such a period.

     

  • So I know how to get it to work.

    You must uninstall TeamViewer on the Lab computer. From your description, it sounds like the user installed TeamViewer as Commercial use instead of personal.

    Once you uninstall TeamViewer, you must change the MAC address of the system. Otherwise TeamViewer will continue to block your system because they register the MAC in their database (I know it's F***ing annoying)

    So not to worry, Windows 10 allows you to change the MAC address. You'll need administrator access to do this, so I recommend getting permission from your network administrator.

    Go into network settings and select the main network adapter. Configure the driver. Go into the driver settings (it's different for some computers so it may be under Advanced tab) Find "Locally Administered Address"

    Untitled.png

    You'll need to change the MAC address here. Use the current MAC address + 01 at the end.

    Example: If your current MAC address is: 00:0A:00:1F:05:08 then use 00:0A:00:1F:05:09 for the new address. To find your current MAC address, simply run 

    ipconfig /all

    in command prompt. Then find the correct network adapter and the MAC address will be associated with that adpater.

    Once you changed the MAC address, you can now install Team Viewer again! This time select Personal use only.

    Hope this helps you more than Team Viewer support can during this time of distress.

  • Recently TeamViewer announced that for the time-being they will not be checking or blocking for commercial use detection.

     

    So it should work now for the time being.

  • lyzerak
    lyzerak Posts: 2

    Hallo zusammen

    Ich benutze TV ausschliesslich privat und nicht kommerziell.

    Leider musste ich einen Antrag stellen, damit TV mein Konto (welches fälschlicherweise als kommerziell markiert wurde) als Privatbenutzer zurücksetzt.

    Ich habe vor gut zwei Monaten das Bestätigungsmail erhalten, welches besagt dass meine TV ID zurückgesetzt wurde. Leider kann ich nach wie vor TV nicht benutzen, da "Testv

  • Phil7
    Phil7 Posts: 8

    The problem for me is oncec the minute is up the screen hangs.

    The screen recording stops. In other words I cannot work with this.

    What other settings should I check?

  • mocherif
    mocherif Posts: 7

    Hello! Please try to use our latest app releases for both sender and receiver. Let us know if you can still reproduce, and if so what devices/OS versions are you using. Cheers!

  • Phil7
    Phil7 Posts: 8

    Thanks for your concern.

    My Imac is running macOS Catalina 10.15.3

    Team Viewer is 15.4.4445

    Currently testing with my Ipad Software 13.4 on same network (could this cause problems) The QS teamviewer is 15-4-1

    I make contact but as soon as the line drops so does the video of my ipad screen

    Hope this all makes sense to you.

     

     

     

  • SandoHP
    SandoHP Posts: 11

    @Giovanni7 (and @starcast), have you followed the guide on https://community.teamviewer.com/t5/Knowledge-Base/How-to-uninstall-TeamViewer-on-PC/ta-p/16835 to uninstall TeamViewer? Deleting the relevant registry items as described there should help. Otherwise you could consider using Revo Uninstaller.

  • jfouts1979
    jfouts1979 Posts: 1

    I am the only one on my free account.  It says that I have exceeded maximum connections.  Does not make any sense.  Please help me.  

  • Same problem hare, I like the software but because of their detection had to use **Third Party Product** instead, give it a try

  • bazbsg
    bazbsg Posts: 103 ✭✭

    Congrats Teamviewer on 100 pages of posts about the same problem on this one thread alone. I also just got my second anniversary badge and since I signed up to ask about this problem it means this has been going on for more than two years.

    I read somewhere recently that Teamviewer was doing away with the commercial use detected algorithm. I think it was on the Teamviewer website. I tried to search for it again but all search results lead back to this page or pages like it. Could you confirm and perhaps point me to that statement please? Thanks.

  • Thank you for the answer @SandoHP , I've just tried everything you suggest. Anyway the guide doesn't mention al lot of other folders in the register editor. Even deleting all of them isn't sufficient. I'm sure that if I search some more informations I'll succed in unistalling TV, but I don't want to make hard changes on my PC and I also think is better procede, if possible, on the "legal" way.

    If I'll have to do that, I'll write on the community to help everyone, even if in a couple of months the method itslef will probably become useless.

    Right now I find a quite good substitue, completly free.

  • I notice now that the free license is restored!! even if the didn't contact me. Super!

  • kwilleke
    kwilleke Posts: 27

    Wieso "Testversion"  und "kommerzielle bzw private Nutzung" ? Da laufen mA nach zwei Dinge durcheinander. Du hast anscjeinend mit einer Testversion gearbeitet - NICHT mit der "privaten Nutzung". Soweit ich weiß, arbeitetst Du in einer Testversion mit einer kompletten Version, die natürlich zeitlich beschränkt ist - also irgendwann abläuft. Bei der "privaten Nutzung" arbeitest Du mit einer eingeschränkten Version hinsichtlich der Funktionen - und die ist zeitlich nicht beschränkt. Bei dem oft hier gemeldeten Problem mit der Vermuteten "kommerziellen Nutzung" erscheint niemal das Wort "abgelaufen" in den entsprechenden Meldungen. Es wird ganz einfach bezweifelt, daß je,and lediglich privat mit Teamviewer arbeitet. Hat also nix mit "Testversion" und "abgelaufen" zu tun. Sollte eigentlich deutlich sein, da bei der Installation danach(nach dem Verwendungszweck) gefragt wird....

     

  • Phil7
    Phil7 Posts: 8

    I did supply machine and software versions (all up to date) but have heard nothing from you since. 
    The problem remains. 
    There is either a setting that I need to change or your software is not fit for use on my Mac - IPad configuration. 



  • Hi All,

    I selected commercial use when signing up to team viewer for personal use not realising I had done this. The trial period has now expired and I am being asked to purchase teamviewer when I do not use it for commercial use. Can anybody help me change this to personal use?

    Thank you.

  • aprinsen
    aprinsen Posts: 1

    Hi TeamViewer, any solution to this yet? I am having the same issue with the connection between my grandmother's iPad and my Mac. As soon as she navigates away from the TeamViewer app (i.e. to do anything on her iPad) we see the notificaiton that screen broadcast will stop after one minute. Then after that minute is over, my view of her screen freezes. Especially in times like these when I can't just stop by her place to troubleshoot the issue in person, it would be really nice to have this issue fixed. Thank you!

  • mY FREE VERSION WONT CONVERT TO REMOTE VERSION

  • I haven;t been able to try it yet but I am told that this might work if the person at the end needing help starts the session from Quicksupport. Have you tried that?

  • Phil7
    Phil7 Posts: 8

    Unlike some other TeamViewer software with QS version the helper can only see the iPad screen not actually action anything on it.  It is the iPad user that presses QS but it then crashes after 1 minute. 

  • richardbramwell
    richardbramwell Posts: 7 ✭✭

    Pardon?

  • richardbramwell
    richardbramwell Posts: 7 ✭✭

    @sehrish_h wrote:

    Hi All,

    I selected commercial use when signing up to team viewer for personal use not realising I had done this. The trial period has now expired and I am being asked to purchase teamviewer when I do not use it for commercial use. Can anybody help me change this to personal use?

    Thank you.


    Pardon?
    Pardon=http://cdn01.teamviewer.com/teamviewer/pdf/TeamViewerDeclarationOfPrivateUse.pdf?utm_source=TV-newsletter-en&mailid=18192339&utm_medium=Email&utm_campaign=news2018-Q3-StayBlocked-cohorte7-NC&utm_content=Intro%2B1%2BText&pid=news.2018-Q3-StayBlocked-cohorte7-NC-en&lid=

  • richardbramwell
    richardbramwell Posts: 7 ✭✭

    @sehrish_h wrote:

    Hi All,

    I selected commercial use when signing up to team viewer for personal use not realising I had done this. The trial period has now expired and I am being asked to purchase teamviewer when I do not use it for commercial use. Can anybody help me change this to personal use?

    Thank you.


    Otherwise zoom dot com

  • I'm having the same thing - the weird part of it is that it's extremely erratic.  Sometimes we lose the connection even before the minute is up; other times we get almost an hour's screen mirroring.  There's no rhyme or reason to it that I can make out.

  • Phil7
    Phil7 Posts: 8

    Interesting that sometimes you get an hour with it working. 

    I have had it work when I have been testing between my Imac and Ipad (locally) but when I actually try to use it with my brothers Ipad (remotely) it fails as soon as the minute is up.

    Very frustrating but as I am only only using the free version to help my brother I cant make a major issue but would it behave differently if I had a paid version?

  • Well I'm using the free version.

    It may be my imagination, but it always seems to be bad at first, and then the more I persevere, the lengthier the sessions get.  I don't think normally we really get anything at all on the first two goes.  I can't think of any reason why that should be.

  • Are you initiating the session from the user with QuickSupport or the user offering the tech support using TeamViewer?

  • Personally I'm initiating it from a PC.  Why - is it possible to initiate it from Quick Support?  That hadn't even occurred to me.

  • Phil7
    Phil7 Posts: 8

    User offering support to family member. 

  • Phil7
    Phil7 Posts: 8

    To TeamViewer staff -You seem to suggest that when the TeamViewer session finishes after a minute that the screen sharing will continue. This is not the case.
    The TeamViewer session finishes and the screen sharing hangs then disconnects. 
    It would appear from other comments that sometimes it works but unless I am sure it is going to work I don't want the iPad user to expect some help and support and only gets more frustrated.