teamviewer.com link icon
or
Ask The Community

Commercial use - Connection time out

1311312314316317343

Comments

  • Symphony
    Symphony Posts: 1 Newbie

    Since long time I am using the TeamViewer free version for non-commercial use (for personal use only). But recently it is aborting the session too frequently. I never encountered this problem before. Please help me to sort out this problem.

  • Marckus
    Marckus Posts: 1 Newbie

    Hello,

    when at home, sometimes like now, i got disconnected from another computer inside my LAN with the reason

    Connection timeout, it seems to be used for commercial use

    I am definetely using teamviever in my internal LAN, so i am not sure why this is happening.

    this is only happening with one pc in my LAN, but not with others outside my LAN.

    Thanks,

    Marco

  • Leena_Toreeno
    Leena_Toreeno Posts: 1 Newbie

    You have NOT answered the question !

    Does the FREE version of teamviewer timeout after a certain period ? 

    I have a free version installed on two different PCs, on one of them, after few minutes the session times out, the other one doesn't. Why ?

  • Justin
    Justin Posts: 778 Moderator

    Hello @Leena_Toreeno,

    It doesn't matter if you are a free or paid user, the license does not time out without a reason. In your case, TeamViewer probably incorrectly detects commercial use. Please request the reset on our website: https://www.teamviewer.com/reset/


    Best,

    Justin

    German Community Moderator

  • SJH134
    SJH134 Posts: 1 Newbie

    I filled in the "Please reset me" request 4 days ago with the required info, since TV thought I was using it commercially, but I'm not. I never got an email confirmation and I'm not reset as yet. How long these days (It's Sept 27, 2021) will I have to wait to hear from TV? I also forgot in my request to list all the id's of all the computers (there are 3), but when I tried to put in another request, it said my request was already entered. Thank you.

  • steve4134
    steve4134 Posts: 1 Newbie

    Previously i had an enetrprise liscence which recently swicthed to a personal when my company went in a different direction with regards to remote access capability. When trying to use it for personal use only i still get a license restriction pop up even thought none of the computers im trying to connect to are on a domain or used in ANY capacity for a business. How can I be able to downgrade and use team-viewer as a consumer.


    Thank you

  • Newcomer1987
    Newcomer1987 Posts: 2 Newbie

    my login to TeamViewer was suspected as a commercial purpose. when I only use it once

  • it says your license limits the maximum session duration to a partner, immediate reconnects are blocked. please try later or upgrade your license.

    connections to this partner will be blocked until %%:%%


    But it was the first time connecting to this partner in a long time, it connected for 1 minute then then it died.


    I am on the free licence and just trying to access my other laptop when my girlfriend was on it.

  • freestyler901
    freestyler901 Posts: 0 Newbie

    Hello there,

    I don't know if this is the right category to post in, but I'm facing a timeout issue when I try to connect with some friends with TeamViewer.

    I'm not using TW for commercial use but only private, but since few days I'm kicked out from my session and TW says that I'm using for commercial and not private use.

    I'm trying to get in touch with customer support, but it's only for licensed users so I don't know how can I fix this.

    Anyone can help?

    Thanks

  • corey75
    corey75 Posts: 1 Newbie

    Same here. I use all my computers at home with teamviewer so that I don't have to get up, relocate the mouse and keyboard on the others since usually it's just to do a couple of short things during the day. I'm on a private license and they blocked me last night. Any fixes on this?

  • MikeATX
    MikeATX Posts: 2 Newbie

    It would be nice if teamviewer would provide us with the supposed "You usage history suggests commercial use" evidence. I have barely used teamviewer since the last time this happened. I would like to know exactly what "usage" is getting me kicked every few months.

  • The_ferret
    The_ferret Posts: 6 ✭✭

    Hello,

    Several months ago I was using TeamViewer on a personal basis, to help my family and friends, but I was wrongly suspected of commercial use. So I had abandoned teamviewer, but a few days ago I saw on the site that there was a form to request an unblocking, so I filled it out and I am now awaiting a response. But given this bad experience, I would like to know, if for personal use there is a limited number of authorized id's (friends or family member) that one can log in non simultaneously to be able to help them.

    Thank you

  • G_dos
    G_dos Posts: 1

    This same thing just happened to me as well and i have been with teamviewer for 8 years thus far im waiting for my ticket to be answered as well but we will see what happens

  • JBTV08
    JBTV08 Posts: 1

    I have been using Teamviewer in my own home for several years now as a private person.

    The only time I use it is when I am watching TV in the evening and want to connect to another computer in my study. Thats all I have ever done.

    Recently however it wont let make contact because it pops up with a message saying 'this is being used in a commercial environment' and I should contact you.

    I am not doing anything different to what I have been doing for the past several years.  Can someone 'unlock' whatever switch is causing this to happen please.

  • The last two days TeamViewer has been the most frustrating experience EVER. I have had a free license for several years and have never encountered a problem. I know a little bit about PC and I have three or four friends who on occasion I will help. It certainly saves time from driving over to do simple things to help friends and family. I do NOT get paid.

    Yesterday a friend who bought a new pc needed some assistance. As soon as I connected to his freshly downloaded free version of TeamViewer I was disconnected and could no longer establish contact. They live 40 miles away and needed some help with installing a program.

    I read the error message click on the links was taken to the page where I could submit by ID. The ID was uploaded, a second page came up where I could complete the personal information form. The pdf was generated and download. Then I printed it off, signed it, scanned it, and uploaded it. I haven't seen circus animals have to jump through that many hoops. But I forged on.

    Now this morning when I started up TeamViewer a new splash screen popped up saying I needed to buy a license. I am so frustrated. There is no one to talk to there is no way to to appeal. I do NOT make money with this product. Why make a customer go through ALL these steps if you already know you are going to deny it and force them to buy it. I might use the product twice in 3 months. You want me to pay $50 dollars a month for a one seat license.

    Shame on TeamViewer. There are other products out there, until now I have preferred TeamViewer but that is quickly changing. Is there anyone who can help? The submission process took over 3 hours last night. The "Trust this Device" function did not work. I kept having to resubmit and reconfirm the same browser on the same system. It was a HORRIBLE experiences.

    This is my last effort to get this corrected. If this fails then it will be goodbye TeamViewer.

    Thanks for you assistance

    The Truth

  • finesthops
    finesthops Posts: 5 ✭✭

    Apparently teamviewer things im using the system for commercial use. I am unsure if its because I am using it at work or what. Basically, I on a rare occasion from my work computer, remote into my home computer. This can be for something like having access to unrestricted internet or something like running world of warcraft on my home PC to slowly and with lots of input lag run to the weekly vault to check what I got.


    I think I have done a remote access once or twice from home to my work computer but its usually something like pulling down some software installer I have or something like that. Its never for work though. If I really needed to do work from home, I would just use my firewalls VPN.


    That said... support is confusing and I see no way to actually contact them directly with a support ticket or phone number unless its a commercial account so, since I am not going to pay $50 for something I use MAYBE once a week for 5 minutes at a time, how can I contact someone to remove the limitations from my account so I can continue doing things that my works IT people would frown upon, if I were not one of the IT people and dont feel like frowning upon myself.

  • The_ferret
    The_ferret Posts: 6 ✭✭

    How does your answer answer my question ...

  • JoshP
    JoshP Posts: 826 Senior Moderator

    Hello @finesthops

    Thanks for your post.

    The use of TeamViewer in a workplace environment, regardless of usage, does require a license.

    Connections to or from work computers, in a home office or corporate setting, will flag a device for commercial use.

    This would be why you see the commercial use alert on your ID(s) when connecting at/to work.

    If you do need commercial access, but to only specific devices, the single-user Remote Access license is a lower-cost alternative TeamViewer license. You can find more info on this specific license, including pricing, here:

    Hope this helps clarify.

    Josh P.
    Senior Community Moderator

    ---

    Did my response answer your question? Help out others and select it as the Accepted Answer

  • finesthops
    finesthops Posts: 5 ✭✭
    edited September 2021

    Connecting from a work laptop: Yes

    Activities for work: No

    Used for support: No

    Using teamviewer to connect to work computer: Very rarely and not for work.

    Connecting to servers: No

    Connecting to or from work computer to access files: Rarely, again, never for work. Maybe twice in the last 10 years.

    for work purposes: No


    So what I am seeing is that I no longer have a use for teamviewer because despite not using it for work, because I use it FROM work, I have to pay. If thats the case, its been a good what... 15 years or so but thats it. It would be absurd to pay $50 a month for 5 minutes a week or less of use.


    So, is there any way to talk to someone from TeamViewer without a license since again, not paying $50 for 5 minutes a week for personal use, to explain how its not for work and to unblock or is teamviewer a lost cause and time to move onto something else? I mean, I have been hearing good things about the free **Third Party Product** but I have been using teamviewer for so long and I liked it.

  • Denza
    Denza Posts: 1
    edited September 2021

    Dears, hello, I have been suspected for commercial usage to my home computer **Do Not Post TeamViewer IDs** from my smartphone. I don't do any business, there is no commercial usage. Please unblock. Thanks!

  • Rookie
    Rookie Posts: 1

    Complaint: I'm increasingly frustrated by this product, I keep getting the commercial use warnings, every time I use this product, I might get 3-4 connections before I start get the notices, then to rub salt in the wound, instead of 5 minutes, its only 1 minute before it boots you out.

    The last time this happened in April 2021, it took 3 months before the Messages stopped appearing after I submitted the form.

    I do not get any confirmations or explanations as to why this keeps happening, its driving me mad.

    Its impossible to talk to anyone about this, the community forum, nice as it is, does not help in this matter, it doesn't allow to reach anyone that can fix whatever the problem is.

    This is getting annoying now, when it works this product is great, its just way too expensive for the use I make of it, I might use it once a week, but since April I haven't been able to reliably use it.

  • wiggs
    wiggs Posts: 1 Newbie

    I need help resetting my account. I should have a free account and it shows I need a business license.

  • Noofconcern
    Noofconcern Posts: 3 ✭✭

    Sorry folks as they just warned me about a post that I have no clue why I was warned other than they cannot give an educated resolution other than you are warned.

  • team viewer times me out fast

  • clh42
    clh42 Posts: 1 Newbie
    edited September 2021

    I don't meet any of these conditions but somehow I'm still getting flagged. I've never connected to or from work. The only PCs I use it between are my own personal home PCs, and my mother who lives in another state. I even submitted the personal use form a year or so ago which I did receive a confirmation that it was accepted, but somehow I'm getting flagged again.

  • shazinoz
    shazinoz Posts: 1
    edited September 2021

    Hi there

    I've been using free TV to enable access to my home PC from work & a few weeks ago, it started timing out after a minute connection. I submitted the Reset Request PDF a week ago but it hasn't been reset. Instead, I am now getting an additional popup when connecting apologising for the interruption & stating that "Unfortunately, we will have to limit your usage of TeamViewer because the usage pattern suggests that you have been supporting others professionally" !?!?!? even though I've only been connecting to my "Home" connection (Actually named "Home" too!)

    I'm in Australia & have tried calling the Aus phone number but it states support is only available to paid license holders. How do I get this issue rectified ????

    PS I would be happy to upgrade to a "Paid" version, but for 2 reasons:

    1. The most basic plan is very expensive (& can't even be paid monthly, only annually) :( &
    2. I have been told you can no longer access existing connections after upgrading ????
  • Hi, Can someone please point me to the upload tool so I can send the commercial.suspected PDF to Teamviewer?


    Thanks,


    Paul

  • session ending within one minute

    im using the free version for personal use

  • artvan
    artvan Posts: 2 ✭✭

    So it looks like teamviewer is scanning for VPN connections.

    exactly how, I have not established, but could be hosts file or actual process scanning.

    After having installed checkpoint vpn on my personal laptop this message popped up. I have not used TV for over a month and then use it only once a week or less. all remote connections are on the same lan.

    If this is the case then teamviewer is spyware, I did not give consent for it to scan my device.

    Anyone else find this nasty and insulting message after installing a vpn?