Announcements

Shape the future of your TeamViewer product with our Product Team. Click here to join!

Posted by ImJustACowLol
Henagon

This is redicilous: TV thinks I am using commercially, and offers no way to appeal.

So last week my TeamViewer account was falsely flagged for having commercial usage, which sucks. Here's the story.

I am a junior software engineer who enjoys his job. I am mainly involved in iOS development at the moment, but I enjoy making web-applications as well. As I am enthusiastic about software development, I often spend time at home working on private projects. One of these private projects is an administration system with which I can register the finances within my household. I also host a website from the server (publicly accesible) on which I provide access to free Java libraries which I have made. With none of these things I make any money. I use Apache TomCat, SQL Server, NodeJS and some other programs to host the administration website (Only accessible within my own wifi network) and the public website.

Obviously, I use TeamViewer to connect to that server whenever I have made a new feature in my administration web app. As the application is written in Angular, and I don't have much web-dev experience, I try out a lot of things and thus I regularly throw new files on the server. Furthermore, I use TeamViewer to connect to my home-server on which I keep all my files (like personal photos, videos etc.).

I have neve made a single dime off of that server or my usage of TeamViewer, yet I was flagged as using the software commercially.

Now the redicilous part comes here: when looking around on the website, TeamViewer offers no way for me to appeal this flag. I can't call them, as that's only for people who own paid licenses, and I can't open a support ticket as - again - that's only for people who own licences. I guess the forum is the only place where I can resort to right now.

Can my account please be properly reinstated?

Update