FAQ on how to get started with TeamViewer during the Corona Virus Crisis

Esther
Esther Posts: 4,052 Former Community Manager
edited May 2023 in Announcements

Hi all,

In the current situation of the Corona Virus Crisis, we all stand together to flatten the curve as it has been called lately.

For this, more and more people started to work from the safety of their homes.

We got a lot of questions in the past days and weeks and we want to provide an FAQ to cover most of the questions directly and in an easy to access way here in our Community:

I am totally new to TeamViewer. Where to begin?

Welcome to TeamViewer!

We have a large number of great articles to help you get started quickly.

Here is a great starting point for the usage of our software: 

How can I set up TeamViewer for Home Office?

Our general recommendation looks like this:

On your work computer:

1. Install TeamViewer Host or the full version on your work computer. You will find the download here: Download TeamViewer
  2. Create a TeamViewer Account and activate two-factor authentication
  3. Setup Easy Access for your TeamViewer Account
  4. Save the TeamViewer ID as a computer in your Computers & Contacts list
  5. An extra layer of security: Add a whitelist for your work computer and add your TeamViewer Account to it. With this, you restrict access for other persons

On your home computer:

1. Install the TeamViewer Full version on your home computer. You will find the download here: Download TeamViewer
  2. Login to your Computers & Contacts list with your TeamViewer Account
  3. You can now connect to your work computer

Can I temporarily add additional channels to my license?

Please contact our sales team regarding license questions. They will be happy to advise you on your options.

Can I buy a monthly subscription for telework?

TeamViewer does not offer a monthly subscription. 

Please contact our sales team regarding license questions. They will be happy to advise you on your options